The Daily Prompt – Resolved

This made me laugh think:

Have you ever made a New Year’s Resolution that you kept?

Why yes – one year I resolved to continue being the same person I always was because I was pretty happy with myself ‘as is’ (I was marked down for clearance).  After a successful year later,  I decided to ditch that resolution and resolved to be horrid at repetitive tasks such as ‘cleaning’, ‘filing’ ‘organizing’ – and have had amazing results.  I can not organize for WEEKS on end.  I also resolved to never scrapbook…that’s been pretty successful as well.

Done & done…. Happy 2013 people! May you revel in your own perfect selves just the way you are – except, you – you need some major overhaul….get to it.

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Humor, Random Thoughts, Words, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to The Daily Prompt – Resolved

  1. Pingback: LAZY RESOLUTIONS « hastywords

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved (Organ Player Paris) « What's (in) the picture?

  3. Well said!!!!!! I’ve resolved to remove myself from these unfriendly surroundings (crappy neighbors and all that) and to turn enough of a profit from my blog to need tax forms… Lofty I know.

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    Of course I don’t scrapbook … nor deal with resolutions. BTW – Happy New Year.

  5. TAE says:

    I like your approach…

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Kick It | Stuph Blog

  7. Perfect resolutions :)

  8. unfetteredbs says:

    “as is” is always the best bargain in town! Smiling at this one :0)

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Resolved | My Journey to Find Me

  10. segmation says:

    You made me laugh! Have a great new years!

  11. Brigitte says:

    Ruta, I am into organizing and good at letting go of things in order to get “new” stuff (usually old furniture that I refurbish), but the scrap booking thing — nah. I like the resolution to just accept your glorious self. I’m going with that one, chickie and from what I know about you, I think it’d be perfect for you as well. ;). Happy 2013.

  12. indytony says:

    In response to a writing prompt from a newly developing WordPress blog called, “Today’s Authors”, I make a list of “My Top 10 Anti-Resolutions for 2013″, with all the things I’m not going to do in the coming year. It was fun. You should take a look at it. It comes complete with pictures.

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Resolved « Inspire the Idea

  14. Carrie Rubin says:

    Those are my type of resolutions. Well done. :)

  15. Kylie says:

    This made me laugh :)
    I like you “as is”!!
    And, who needs a scrapbook when you can keep a blog?

  16. twindaddy says:

    I’m so bad ass that I didn’t even have to resolve not to scrapbook. I just don’t do it without resolving not to do it. Be jealous.

  17. MissFourEyes says:

    Haha! So far I’ve been pretty good at not scrapbooking too! I think I will join you and resolve not to scarpbook this year.

    …..why do I want to scrapbook so bad now? Oh no! It’s like forbidden fruit!

  18. I took upon me the resolution to drink more alcohol in 2013, but after new year’s eve, I don’t think I can manage that…

  19. mairedubhtx says:

    We think alike. My idea of organization is to throw the receipts in the “keep” pile instead of throwing them out. That’s organization. It’s as far as I’ll go. I know where things are amidst the clutter–I think. Why make a resolution to mess with my system. I’ll never figure out another system.

    • EXACTLY!~ I figure anything on the top or front of the pile (if it’s in a cabinet) is “new” and stuff on the bottom or in the back is “old” — bam! done…

      The irony is that I’m a librarian….and everyone I know is a far better organzier than I…my specialty is that I can find anything in any kind of mess…. :)

  20. Happy 2013 to you too, great job.:)

    Yen-Yen

  21. Cathy Ulrich says:

    I’ve resolved never to skydive. And so far, I’ve managed to avoid it?

  22. haha! I resolved never to scrapbook long ago. It’s one I’ve been able to stick with!

  23. becca3416 says:

    I didn’t count yesterday, as I was still off and in lazy mode. I shall start being a good 2013er today.

  24. RFL says:

    I’m so good at not scrapbooking too! Thanks for the laugh this morning and Happy 2013!

Divulge your thoughts...

