It’s all King Lear’s Fault

King Lear

Mom – this post is for you ~ Love ya!

Every time I make a payment for my student loans, I silently curse King Lear.  He’s the one that got me in this mess in the first place.  How could I have possibly fortified myself against the lure of intellectual discourse as a young girl in an adult college writing course?  A room full of adult people conversing about literature? Debate regarding a Shakespearian play? DISCUSSION! They were talking about something they read and they weren’t expected to write about it using power paragraphs.  No one I knew discussed books or plays. No one I knew even read plays. Like I said, I was defenseless.

On second thought, maybe it’s my Mother’s fault.  Curse her for bringing a precocious 12 year old child to her writing class at the community college she was attending.  And curse the professor, as well, for allowing me to participate in the discussion. That could only lead to trouble.  Shakespeare definitely should take a part of the blame. Him with his intriguing plays and enticing language; I was sucked in from the get go.

Mom had to have had an inkling of what might result. Didn’t I always have my name on the chalkboard, in the upper left-hand corner, at school for talking too much? Didn’t every report card note my inability to sit quietly in a classroom?  They were all plotting against me with their evil plans to make me want to go to school …perpetually.  Elementary school, Jr. High, High School, Community College, University then Graduate School.  Avoiding adult responsibility is not cheap.  Not. Cheap. At. All.

I’d like to get my Doctorate one day, but I need funds.  Serious funds – because I don’t plan to get it in anything sensible or reasonable (why break the trend after all these years?). Since I’m not doing it to make more money, someone has to pay for my obsession.  I think it should be one of the scoundrels mentioned above.  And I think out of all of them, King Lear is the only one with any kind of serious dosh.

Oh wait – it’s Shakespeare – Lear’s dead.  Damn.

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to It’s all King Lear’s Fault

  1. Love this, as a former English major. I recently decided to start reading Shakespeare aloud and thought I’d get my husband to do it with me. Gah. “It’s too hard,” he said. (It was only Romeo and Juliet….) He studied photojournalism (his career) and it instantly showed me why I chose English and loved it. It never even occurred to me that someone would or could dislike listening to to or reading Shakespeare. Sigh. I’ll just have to play all the parts myself!

  2. Reblogged this on A Spoonful of Suga and commented:
    I loved this post !!! Check it out Or Else

  3. unfetteredbs says:

    I have a BA in English. For the love of GOD we all know who useless that is but I loved the course work. I have a daughter who DREAMS of being a writer. She is a total creative dreamer type.. romantic..observant the whole sha-bang. I cringe at the idea of her going to school and majoring in creative writing but I am going to have to let her do it. I cannot squash her dream and her first love… sigh. She is only two years away from this decision. The call of the siren..
    I hate school. haa I am not mature enough for the profession from which I earn my paycheck

    • hee hee… My parents told me they would be paying for me to be a philosophy major ~
      I would say you are right to not squash her dreams – you never know what she’ll do given the chance to explore on her own!

      • unfetteredbs says:

        yea yea.. I know but damn…. can’t she see what ding dongs her parents are? Art major and english major= poor

        • My kid has a father who is a music/fine arts/illustration major (he does IT now!) and a mother with a sociology degree and a MLA…who doesn’t work in a library. I think it’s just excellent for a child to see their parents continue learning. It’s not the degree that matters – it’s the delaying of adulthood responsibilities that makes the difference! Your child’s parents are NOT ding dongs… silly, silly librarian-girl.

        • unfetteredbs says:

          ding dongs that love each other is far more important than any paycheck ;0) but man can’t she be a little more grounded? Although- my oldest is an engineer major so apparently there is NO middle ground in my house 🙂

        • Hee hee – there’s no rhyme or reason for what we love, right???

  4. Yeah, I’ve been there. It was all the stories and people from history that lured me back. I was doing it for myself, rather than for career advancement, so I was doing my PhD part time while I was working. Bad enough that it was expensive, but to do doctoral work while working full time is just Un.Believably.Brutal. I eventually dropped out because I just didn’t have enough steam to continue.

  5. TAE says:

    Just thinking of the US education system and the indebtedness it brings makes me really, really angry.

  6. I.Love.This. For me is was Les Mis. Damn Victor Hugo for diverting funds each month away from the “dress baby as a zoo animal” fund into the “pay for mommy’s currently unused degrees” fund!

    • Hee hee…eventually you will ‘use’ your degree!! But all knowledge is ‘used’ knowledge… would you like to add on my payment? And my husband’s? Come one – it would be fun!

      Damn that Victor Hugo – you can’t trust a person with a first-name-last-name, can you?

  7. RFL says:

    Love this. I loved the part about your mom taking you class with her as well. Those moments can have so much impact, and the fact that it sparked a life-long love for debate an critical thinking is amazing.

    • It’s amazing, unless you’re my teacher and i’m debating and ‘critically’ thinking (OUT LOUD) all the time! But thank you – I still remember how ‘adult’ I felt sitting in that classroom. I made me want to go to college.

      • RFL says:

        I’m sure your teachers loved it.
        I used to help my mom correct some of her freshman english papers, which made me think I could be a teacher for a brief period of my life. Until I remembered my crippling fear of public speaking that is 🙂

        • I wonder if teachers start every day with a nervous stomach…whenever I taught or did a guest lecture, I was just sweating in a very unattractive manner.

          I always suspected that if I was a teacher – kids would know in a second that I was fraud!

  8. Cathy Ulrich says:

    Yes, damn King Lear! And Shakesphere. But all he was trying to do was make a living as a playwright! Still, being a perpetual student myself, I can understand your dilemma. I just finished my doctorate a few years ago and I find myself thinking “What’s next?” But don’t tell my husband…

  9. You will find the money sister…LOVE that your mom took you to a class when you were 12…keep goin….

  10. Storkhunter says:

    Yep I know what you mean. My loans are all Richard III’s fault and Hamlet’s. I considered going for the Doc. Couldn’t afford it so just gave up on the idea. I write blogs instead

  11. Reblogged this on The Mercenary Researcher and commented:

    Since I’ve been wordy lately – I thought this would be a nice ‘reblog’…

  12. Dawn Nunn says:

    Well I did SEE the White House this week, but the only thing I influenced was pushing an annoying person out of the way to get a better look through the gates.

  13. Dawn Nunn says:

    I think you should send the bill to your favorite singer, E.H. He definitely had an influence on where you are today. Also might explain why you’re considering Bejeweling for your doctorate.

  14. James Joyce and Kurt Vonnegut are to blame for my student loans.

Divulge your thoughts...

