Can you repeat that 150 times?

I had started this really serious post about my love of music. I was biking home the other day and thinking about music and its importance in my life.

I just re-read my post…it’s kind of dull. And by kind of – I mean it’s a real snoozer.  I have to see if I can’t revive it with something at least interesting about my addiction to music.

Because, really, that’s what it is – an addiction.  And not one that I’m interested in ‘curing’ anytime soon.  Do they even have MA (Music Anonymous) support groups?  That would kind of interesting; people sitting around, introducing themselves and breaking down in sobbing hysterics whilst admitting an unrelenting craving for DEVO.

However, I think if I liked a boy band or The Spice Girls, I’d seek immediate medical attention.  Something like that would need curing with drugs.  Really intense drugs.

However, back to music –and how much I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it.

I can’t overstate that enough.  I can’t imagine doing the following things if I didn’t have music:

  • Cooking
  • Baking
  • Housework
  • Biking
  • Exercising
  • Running
  • Tiling
  • Driving in the Car
  • Crunching Numbers
  • Taking a walk
  • Living
  • Breathing

I hate to admit – I’m somewhat of a music snob. Sometimes it’s like pulling teeth to get me to listen to something new.  But when I’m enthused about a band – everyone gets to hear about it.  I imagine it takes a lot of energy to put up with me on a daily basis.  That’s why I’ve refined the first two items on my list –  it’s the payoff for listening to me drone on about any number of things that I’m rabid about at the moment.

I hate when people ask: What’s your favorite band/song? My answer is typically whatever I’m listening to is my favorite at that point in time.  I refuse to listen to music not of my choosing (when possible) – life’s too short to tolerate crap.  That said – I do listen to other people’s music – most people I know have really superb taste in music. That is typically one of the reasons we are friends, we have a common love of music.  But I’m not down with putting on the radio to some generic station for background noise.  I can’t tell you the last time I listened to the radio – with the exception of Pandora.

So like I said – my addiction to music, in and of itself is not interesting at all. But I think one aspect of my addiction that is kind of, well, odd.

When I like a band – I typically am not so much interested in learning about the trivia of the band – it’s not that I don’t care…it’s that I’m more obsessed with listening.  I have a high level of tolerance for repetition.  I mean really high…for example, I just got into White Stripes “Get Behind Me Satan” and I listened to it at work EVERY DAY FOR EIGHT HOURS STRAIGHT FOR THREE WEEKS. That is roughly 120 hours of listening to the same 13 songs over and over and over again.  And if that wasn’t enough – and it wasn’t- I listened every day at home when I was in the kitchen making meals.  So we’re talking about roughly a 150 hours dedicated to the same 13 songs.  I’m pretty sure that’s bizarre; possibly clinical and noted in the DSM IV.

This book knows a lot about me ~

And just as a side note, it’s STILL in my CD player in the kitchen.  And yes, I have a CD player.   I don’t actually feel like I own a CD (or album) unless I have the hard copy.  MP3 files are too ephemeral. And you don’t get liner notes, publication information, any included art etc. from an MP3 file.  I’m sad that CDs are on their way out.  And I know this is in direct contrast with my above statement about not caring to know about a band.  I still want to know I just don’t care about memorizing factoids about them for trivial pursuit talk.

I also feel very strongly about listening to an entire album in the sequence that the musicians ordered it on the CD.  I don’t often choose to listen on ‘random’ – however, ‘repeat’ is very popular with me.  I can’t imagine listening to Frank Zappa on ‘random’ – most of his work is meant to be listened to in the order presented on the album/CD.

I like to listen to music with people – but for the most part I like to listen alone.  I think it’s so I can get completely lost in the song. Music is very intimate and goes along with my solo hobby lifestyle.  It allows me to think, fantasize, sing and cope with life.

I hope music will always be a part of my life and I hope to pass that love on to my son, who is 9 and is a keen fan of some really excellent bands, DEVO, Talking Heads, The Cramps, Esquivel, Zappa, Spike Jones to name a few. When he was in preschool his teachers told me he had an ‘interesting’ repertoire of songs. One parent told us he wanted to meet us because he would drop his daughter off at preschool and hear Dorian belting out Jonny Burnette’s “Train Kept a Rollin’” when he was swinging. It makes a mother proud.

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Baking, Biking, Humor, Music, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Can you repeat that 150 times?

  1. twindaddy says:

    Rutabaga, you and I have a lot in common it seems. I’m this way with new music I really like. I’ll put it an and listen to it for minutes, hours, days, weeks, and months on end. I don’t like listening to radio either, because 1) I like picking my own music and 2) I fucking hate commercials.

    Listening to music makes everything easier. Work, driving, doing chores. hiding bodies…wait. Scratch that last one.

    But seriously, great post.

  2. Maryann Graziano says:

    Tom loves to listen to music, anytime, any place. He can’t do any work without music. He even listens to his ipod on the plane to fall asleep! I like music – when I walk somewhere alone, to drown out school kid noise on a bus, but I love silence. I love to hear all the little noises we miss when the noise of people intrudes. I love my classroom when it is just me in there. I hear the noise of the projector, the computer, the steps in the hallway, the breeze whacking the blinds opened. I guess I just love the sounds of silence.

  3. The Waiting says:

    I often feel so archaic with my giant binders filled with hundreds of CDs, but I am like you and it makes me sad that they are on their way out! Nowadays my husband and I listen to a lot of new(er) music on Pandora. I’ve actually discovered some stuff that I really like! But the problem with Pandora? No repeats. Major, major strike against it. Sometimes I just want to listen to MGMT 800 times in a row 😉

    • I like Pandora every once in a while- I’ve discovered 16 Hosepower, White Stripes, Artic Monkeys – so like you said, at times it’s good – other times, I just want to repeat & repeat & repeat…
      I’m a media pig – I love owning books, CDs & DVDs…I lug them around like an albatross around my neck…

  4. The radio? What is this thing you call radio? Is it music related?
    I do have XM though. The Coffee House station is my all time favorite.
    Totally feel you on the repeat and obsession. I devoured everything “Death Cab For Cutie” upon discovery. My latest obsession is The Kills. I think I ran 12 miles straight on Sunday going back and forth between “Sour Cherry” and “Getting Down.”
    You should post your boring music post. I bet it wouldn’t be boring to everyone. And by everyone I mean *me* 🙂
    MA huh? Count me in. Instead of 12 steps, we’ll each have our lists of Top 12 Albums For ___ (fill in the blank as mood or day or cause dictates.) Just like John Cusack’s “High Fidelity.”
    Love the post- more please. 🙂

  5. chaoshighway says:

    I am buying you a Taylor Swift collection for Christmas.

  6. sllingky says:

    Though I can’t relate completely on all counts you discuss, I can on many and I am glad to hear I am not the only one!

Divulge your thoughts...

