Hey Baby – What’s Your Genre?

Historical fiction? Nope.
Mystery? Nope.
General fiction? Nope.
Biography? Nope. 
Slice of Life?
Good god no!
Humor? Maybe…

What kind of writer of am I  is my genre? This question has been plaguing me for a while now. I guess it’s mostly because I’m trying to figure out where I’m going with my writing; if anywhere. I have edited this since my original posting after more thought – I think I’m more in a conundrum about my genre not if I’m a writer or not…

Am I going to write a book? I don’t know – I’ve loosely thought about that for most of my life – but I have no urge to write about anything in particular.

This follows a fairly consistent pattern in my life. And what would that pattern be, Denise? Well, doctor, it is to be good at something but have no urge to pursue it in a manner that is monetarily advantageous to me.

However, this is not a post regarding my anxieties about fears of success… it’s about my GENRE…and as with most things in my world, I wanted  it to be clear cut, but alas it was not.

UNTIL… (I’m the queen of caveats)

As I was biking and listening to David Bowie’s “Andy Warhol” it occurred to me that I’m really not a writer. I’m a storyteller.  I love to tell them and I love to write them.  And that is my story.

I want to thank everyone that has been reading my stories- “THANK YOU!!”  I have become very fond of all of you.

I’d like to leave you with the lyrics for “Andy Warhol” – which I believe sums up how I feel (in a non-creepy way, of course).

Like to take a cement fix
Be a standing cinema
Dress my friends up
just for show
See them as they really are

Put a peephole in my brain
Two New Pence to have a go
I’d like to be a gallery
Put you all inside my show

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Biking, Humor, Philosophy, Random Thoughts, Story, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hey Baby – What’s Your Genre?

  1. Le Clown says:

    Rutabaga,
    This was a good post to start my trek here. Basically, you’re warning me that I am in for a smorgasbord of topics? And the David Bowie classic is a major treat for this clown.
    Le Clown

  2. I’m rather fond of you too.

    I’d never thought of it, but we would give Mr. Dewey Decimal quite a conundrum. We are not so easily defined, classified or shelved.

    Um, so, tell on, Story Teller! 🙂

  3. RFL says:

    Loved this. I have been asking myself this question since I started writing, not that I have a book or anything either. But I think you are right–the storytelling comes first. Put them in a genre if and when you start trying to market them. I love your stories by the way.

  4. That’s great it really sums up a writer, thanks for sharing 😉

Divulge your thoughts...

