5AM – A Special Kind of Crazy

Ah – 5Am on a Monday morning is a special kind of feeling. Thunder rumbling overhead, storms on the horizon. It’s cooler now, a little calm before the storm.

I’m at Circle K getting my Monday 99 cent coffee on my way to work…I decide on a whim to get some gas whilst I’m there. I pull up to the pump – get out and marvel at the world at 5AM.

The Rolling Stones’ “Beast of Burden” is blaring through the loudspeaker and a crazy old man is playing air guitar on one of the concerete islands. He’s a Stones fan is that man. And who can blame him?   I watch a little – I pump some gas.  The song ends – some CCR “Bad Moon on the Rise” comes on.  Crazy man digs CCR – more air guitar. He might be crazy, but you gotta admit he’s pretty good.  Definitely influenced by The Who and Pete Townshend. He’s got some good arm moves going.

After Folgerty is done, we gas pumpers get some Bowie “Rebel, Rebel” – and I think “whoo hoo! We’re in for a treat with crazy man.”  Before I can turn around to see him in action – I hear a weird BAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHH, BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH, BAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHH sound like a sheep in pain – I’m sad to say that crazy man is not a Bowie fan. 

I make eye contact with a fellow gas pumper – we both look over at crazy-sheep-bah-man, we look at each other. I can’t help but laugh – then neither can he.

We both know – it’s gonna be a good Monday.

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor, Music, Random Thoughts, Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5AM – A Special Kind of Crazy

  1. Ahhhh Circle K… I really really Really miss their french vanilla cappuccino! (My little tiny town that I’ve moved to has never even heard of Circle K. “Isn’t THAT a cereal, honey?”)

    Have you ever met a crazy person that doesn’t dig CCR? I mean seriously. I LOVE CCR.

    Um, wait. Well, you know what I mean. 😉

  2. If everyday began like this I’d have it made.

Divulge your thoughts...

