Two Scenarios: from the Mind of a Writer from and the Mind of a Librarian

Which is my mind, of course… I’m in two minds about most things…

So this is a fun fast story.

I was surprised when I viewed my stats for the 456th time yesterday and saw that I was up 200% from my overall daily average. I only see those kinds of hits when I post something. Ok, ok, I’m talking like an average of 25 views for non-post days and 75 for days I post, however it sounded more impressive when I talked about it using percent difference… BUT  ANYWAY…

I looked a little more closely in a research-y fashion and noticed that I had 33 hits from Saint Kitts and Nevis.

Note the international acclaim I have
Picture from WordPress Stats

I know you’re nodding your head in fascination and awe are you not? Additionally, there were 35 hits to my posting When Sheep Don’t Bring You Joy and several different search terms for ‘sheep don’t bring’   – it was rather curious.

I like maps and research terms – so here are some!

I didn’t know anything about St. Kitts and Nevis so I naturally used my librarian skills and typed something into the internets (luckily the tubes weren’t clogged at the time) and found many interesting factoids, such is has a population of 50,314 persons. And it’s two very small islands. So basically, 0.07% of the population has possibly been reading my blog. It’s pretty exciting…

Obviously as a curious person, I was wondering what was going on with that. I was going to ask someone that is the ‘biz’ of metrics, but then during my run; I sort of started to think about what the possible scenarios might be and came up with these two.

1)    Someone from that 0.07% mentioned above stumbled upon my blog and was swept away with my incredible stories of sheep and bleeding penis head wounds. Then, through the magic of small island communication (I’m thinking smoke signals) has gotten a statistically significant (ha ha) portion of the population to read my posting.  I’m sweeping the island like WILDFIRE.  Ah… it’s a titillating thought…

2)   Here’s a more likely scenario…some high school kids on Saint Kitts and Nevis (don’t know which island) were in their English class…and they have the obligatory ‘learn how to do research in the library’ class … so they all tromp to the library in a desultory manner. The librarian gives them a handout with various questions to research online – one of questions asks them to research something about sheep and evaluate the results from the Internet.

Facts about Sheep? Excellent

Stories about a bleeding penis in a small town with sheep? Possibly Crap.

So REALLY, I want to know what you think was going on here….

UPDATE! UPDATE! Alert reader, Edward Hotspur found that St. Kitts has a VET SCHOOL!!!   – it must have been sheep-research day!

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor, Librarian, Math, Random Thoughts, Story, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Two Scenarios: from the Mind of a Writer from and the Mind of a Librarian

  1. jiltaroo says:

    Well, obviously I’m going to have to read about the “sheep and the bleeding penis”. Is this a Brothers Grim story…my kids love these!

  2. Pingback: SHEEP UPDATE! SHEEP UPDATE! | The Mercenary Researcher

  3. I meant IT must have been sheep research day at vet school!

  4. Maybe there is a top veterinarian school there, and they happened to have a section on sheep ailments, so ‘sheep’ and ‘penises’ came up a lot in their searches.

  5. I like how each version of the search phrase is slightly different—the missing apostrophe, the question mark, the ellipsis, etc. I like your scenario #1–although I can’t imagine why the teacher would have chosen that particular search term??

    • Maybe sheep are not really happening on the islands in the West Indies … I actually have NO idea how that came about or what the actual story is there – it was so odd. I’ve also had a couple of my blogs reblogged on non-english sites – which is weird too! I just don’t know about this blog-word.

  6. Brigitte says:

    All this math made my head hurt, Ruta. But it sounds as if you’re very popular in those islands whether it’s from your sheep stories or your mad storytelling skills. I’m going to go with the 2nd one. When I want to figure out all those percentages on my blog stats can I send you some screenshots? I hate numbers. I like pretty pictures and words. :).

  7. It is my humble opinion that 33 sheep from Saint Kitts and Nevis were viewing your post because:

    1) They had issues with bleeding penises;
    2) They were told that they were moving to Benson, AZ;
    3) They had just been converted to Catholicism;
    4) Any combination of 1) through 3) above.

  8. theabrasiveembrace says:

    32 kids and one teacher? We should research class sizes in SKnN…

  9. I think they were searching for a Bible verse and found you instead. God is good!

  10. Okay, I just read, “When Sheep Don’t Bring You Joy.” The fact that the people of Saint Kitts and Nevis love that post as much as I do makes me feel akin to them. And to think, this whole time, we’ve overlooked this tiny nation and their great sense of humor… I think they’ve just put themselves back on the map, or at least my radar. Lol!

Divulge your thoughts...

