Bloggers for Movember – For Jack Schwartz

In honor of Bloggers for Movember, I’m reblogging this post in honor of the best teacher I ever had who died suddenly and far too soon. This is for you Mr. Schwartz.

The Mercenary Researcher

I cannot tell a lie. Not a fib, falsehood, untruth, tall tale, or fabrication.  Don’t bother to ask me to get someone to their surprise party under false pretenses because I won’t be able to pull it off. I’ve tried – believe me I have.   I’m a complete & utter failure when it comes to fibbery (ok, I can’t lie but I can make up words…I wonder if that’s a form of a linguistics lie? Hmmmmm….).

It’s not virtue – it’s the result of thick, white tights.

When I was younger – in 2nd grade, we lived in the village of Shoreham on Long Island (New York).  It was a lovely quaint village ‘burb. Where kids played outside, we had block parties; Moms’ had coffee klatches and played Mahjong…very Erma Bombeck.  And, because it was a village – it was small.  We all knew one another.

As I mentioned…

View original post 928 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Childhood, Children, Health, Humor, Movember, Random Thoughts, Relationships, Story and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bloggers for Movember – For Jack Schwartz

  1. The Hook says:

    Greta share. Very touching.

Divulge your thoughts...

