For My Friend

I wanted to take a minute to talk a little about one of my best friends -I met her when I was 14 years old and she has been everything a friend should be for 28 years.  I love her dearly. She is the sister I never had.

Her name is Karen and she’s had quite a life. She is blessed with brains, beauty and a wit that is as honed as a Ginsu knife (it never needs sharpening).  She has dealt with struggles that I can only imagine in some of my darkest nightmares – but she has pulled through all of them with grace, a humble heart and a cool head.

Her greatest gift to me was that she taught me how to be introspective – to really think and go beyond edges of the box where I was trapped for many years. I always felt a little different but I didn’t realize until my early teens, that there were options other than what I’d experienced thus far. Our friendship has not been perfect – and we lost touch for several years over an incident I cannot quite remember – but we have emerged from that bout of crazy stronger than before.

And she also introduced David Bowie to me – how can that not be up there with “MOST AMAZING DISCOVERIES EVER”?

Her most recent journey has been a struggle with overcoming addiction – and like all things Karen embarks upon, she did it with introspection, grace and style.  She dared to share many of her most troubling memories and struggles in order to emerge a stronger person, a more confident parent and a even more loving spouse.   I have been following her blog, Alifelessscripted for a while now – and it’s been an incredible and strange experience to read about someone that you have known for so long and that you have great admiration for. It’s also amazing that no matter how ‘well’ you think you know someone, you find that there are many things still left to discover.

Karen also pushed encouraged me to start my own blog and has been a faithful ‘fan’ since its inception. Thank you, Karen – I would not have done it without you.

So why am I writing about this? Well, Karen is bidding us adieu in the blogging world – and she explains why here … so if you have a chance – go visit her blog before it’s dust in the wind.

Run for the Shadows in the these Golden Years ~

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Childhood, Random Thoughts, Story, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to For My Friend

  1. What a great tribute to your friend! We should all be so lucky to have friendships like that.

  2. Thanks for introducing her 🙂 I’m off to visit her blog – but this is a beautiful dedication post 🙂

  3. The Hook says:

    You’re lucky to have each other. Beautiful post.

  4. What a happy friend post! Thanks to Karen for getting you to blog… I really enjoy reading your stuff so much. Good friends are so so SO incredibly hard to come by, especially those that are there through thick and thin.

  5. Anyone who brings David Bowie into your life is very cool in my book. She sounds like a great friend and all around wonderful human being. Lucky you! I’ll go check her out.

  6. becca3416 says:

    Got distracted by David Bowie, but I will visit Karen’s blog 🙂

  7. Kim says:

    I don’t even know her and that farewell brought tears to my eyes.

  8. The Waiting says:

    That was so sweet. I’m grateful to Karen simply for getting you to blog!

  9. This is very sweet Ruta. Beautifully written. I adore you both.

Divulge your thoughts...

