Igor and Red Elvises – The Best Band You Should Be Seeing

I looked for you last night – where were you? Didn’t you know – Igor and Red Elvises were playing at The Hut? If you came early enough, you wouldn’t have had to pay the cover.

What? You’ve never heard of Igor and Red Elvises? They used to be The Red Elvises – does that ring any bells? No? Huh….

They tour everywhere; all the time. They’re from Russia (well, now they’re from LA but Igor, Oleg and Alex are all Russian). Not only are they great musicians – but they also have the sexiest accents going. The current keyboard/saxophone/flutist is freakin’ incredible as well – she’s not Russian – but I can forgive her for that.

I really think you need to go see them – It’s hard to NOT love them right off the bat. They play a mixture of rockabilly, surf, Russian folk and Tom Waits. How can you resist Lara’s Wedding Day?

I’ve been seeing this band for about 7 years – so many times, I’ve lost count – but every time I see them, I can’t stop smiling. They are the kind of band that one immediately just loves because they play tight, connect with the audience and vibrate with crazy energy.  And Oleg plays an enormous RED Balalaika bass – it’s worth the $10 to just see that…

I can’t resist a red headed bass player from Russia ~
Photo Credit: Surfguitar101.com

I implore you – see them if they come to a town near you.  You will not regret it.

The best part of the night for me was this –

That’s me fawning over Oleg ~ I’m hoping he’ll whisper something Russian in my ear…
Photo Credit: Ted Schredd

Go – See them – NOW…

You’ll thank me later….

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Music, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Divulge your thoughts...

