Since I’ve been wordy lately – I thought this would be a nice ‘reblog’…

The Mercenary Researcher

Mom – this post is for you ~ Love ya!

Every time I make a payment for my student loans, I silently curse King Lear.  He’s the one that got me in this mess in the first place.  How could I have possibly fortified myself against the lure of intellectual discourse as a young girl in an adult college writing course?  A room full of adult people conversing about literature? Debate regarding a Shakespearian play? DISCUSSION! They were talking about something they read and they weren’t expected to write about it using power paragraphs.  No one I knew discussed books or plays. No one I knew even read plays. Like I said, I was defenseless.

On second thought, maybe it’s my Mother’s fault.  Curse her for bringing a precocious 12 year old child to her writing class at the community college she was attending.  And curse the professor, as well…

View original post 215 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. Pingback: Anniversary: King Lear First recorded play - Yareah Magazine | Yareah Magazine

Divulge your thoughts...

