Wow – What a Whirlwind!

First off – I want to welcome all the new people that have started following my blog and thank all my blogging friends that kept encouraging me – even when I’d whine “Will I EVER become Freshly Pressed???”  Yes, I’m a lamenter at times..

Also a big THANK YOU to the Freshly Pressed people – I’m honored and completely floored that my post Doublplusungood was deemed ‘press-able’.   I have been floating around on a cloud since Wednesday. It must be great to have a job where you make 10 people a day overjoyed!

So anyway, this Friday has been amazing and crazy ~ I hope I was able to respond to everyone’s comments.  The outpouring of kindness made my heart (and probably my head) swell with joy (and possibly ‘ego’).

It’s 10PM – my brain is mush and all the new nifty words I’ve been reading about are hiding in my memory. They’ll come out tomorrow.  But for now – my clever is all gone…however, my feelings of gratitude for everyone that visits and reads my work are more than I can express.

Time for sleep ~ Saturday (the day you’ll read this) is my husband’s birthday – HAPPY BIRTHDAY, SCOTT!! I have big weekend of baking and parties…WHOO HOO!!!

So I would like to leave you with this song by The White Stripes

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Freshly Pressed, Humor, Random Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Wow – What a Whirlwind!

  1. Rufina says:

    Congratulations!! I’m listening to the song, before I travel over to the actual post itself to catch up on what everyone else is talking about! Wow, and just a month ago? I’d still be on the high if I were you!

  2. wanderingmiyagi says:

    Congratulations. It is always good to be freshly pressed. 🙂

  3. Really happy for you, and yeah, I knew you even longer. Tee hee. But Karen knew you longest, so I won’t gloat too much.

    Hey, hey, hey, hey, hey, hey, HEY, hey, HEY HEY HEY HEY!

    Hey, that could be my favorite word. That and awesome. And catapult and cantankerous and persnickety and luscious and serene and sassafras and Farkle and and and….

  4. lolabees says:

    Congrats! You’ve arrived. 😀

  5. Double plus well done on being Freshly Pressed.

  6. The Hook says:

    Great work, my old friend! Sorry i don’t have more time to visit, but keep up the good – and Pressable – work!

  7. So happy you got pressed! Very well deserved 🙂

  8. Finally got over here . . . WOOT. Always glad to see another librarian get some! Attention. Of course. Good job.

  9. Hmmm. For some reason I want to watch Napoleon Dynamite now. I lie. I always want to watch Napoleon Dynamite. That FP badge looks great on your blog!

  10. Congrats again! It’s funny because I wish there were some other way to say it, but I can’t think of anything… Back to the thesaurus I go.

    BTW, did Jack Johnson cover White Stipes or vice versa? Hmmmmm.

  11. iRuniBreathe says:

    I’m glad I got into the cool club before you were made (officially) famous. I think we all knew it was going to happen. You are too hip to just pass by.

  12. Cathy Ulrich says:

    Love your taste in music, Denise, even if it’s not mine. And I, too, knew you when…FP is quite the wild ride, isn’t it? Fortunately, when mine was posted I was off work for the day so I had the time to answer all those comments. Didn’t sleep that well the night before or after, however – just too jazzed!

    • I actually thought – YIKES, I need to take the day off!

      Thanks – I’m pretty sure most people don’t have the same taste in music – but there’s so much of it – that we can all love our own music and appreciate what others love too!

      Thank you!

  13. Brother Jon says:

    Congrats! I really like that song too. It reminds me of Napoleon Dynamite.

  14. RFL says:

    I was so happy to see you up there. And I agree with rossmurray, I’m happy to have known you before you got famous!

  15. rossmurray1 says:

    I feel like such a hipster: “Yeah, I was, like, so-o-o-o-o following Mercenary Researcher before it was cool, even though she thought I was a girl.”

Divulge your thoughts...

