I’m reposting this because I’ve recently had a neuropsych eval done on my son. Despite the news being good, overall, it brought up a whole host of emotions that I didn’t suspect I still had. The eval has helped to piece together some of the things I’d thought were bizarro and is a good road map to helping my son work on some of the things that are hard for him to manage. But I needed to remind myself that he may not be like ‘every kid’ but he’s my kid and what he does, it’s pretty amazing considering the road he traveled to get here ~

The Mercenary Researcher

Serious Warning (as opposed to my goofy ones): There’s a pretty intense and somewhat scary picture at the end of this post

Let’s face it – I’m not the crafty type.  Neither is my kid.  It gets a little depressing seeing everyone’s kids’ pictures on Facebook engaged in all sorts of creative past times.   It makes me feel inadequate to know that I can’t grow anything but twigs; I don’t scrapbook my child’s life; I’ve never done anything exciting with toilet paper rolls except use them for impromptu bookmarks.

I started off, like most new parents, with the best of intentions. I have a baby book. I wrote some stuff in it (I think). It’s filled with post-it notes that mark the milestones in my child’s life.  I desperately hope that’s good enough.  I have a billion pictures, however.  And we have some videos. But I’m not really into photography…

View original post 385 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Childhood, Children, Cooking, Eating, Family, Food, grieving, Health, Injury, Mental Health, Random Thoughts, Story, Words, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to

  1. TammyeHoney says:

    Your son may grow up to amaze the world…God’s plan has not unfolded yet and he might surprise the world indeed. Crafty is not the only talent in life and he may surpass others in some hidden talents yet to be seen… Supply him with music and instruments and see if he shines there. One day something will spark and he will shine. Keep the faith and the love will conquer all.

    • Thank you – I feel he will be something amazing – he has over come so many obstacles- and he loves music. He has much to enrich his life and I hope he finds a path that makes him happy and uses his talents.
      Your comment was lovely. I sincerely appreciate it.

      • TammyeHoney says:

        I worked with special people for many years who lived with their families and I took them on outings to give the families a break. Most were autistic or down syndrome. They were amazing. We did things that the parents would never dream of doing. Concerts, Football games, golf, going to restaurants, etc. It gave the parents faith in their children (who were much older) that there was still hope.

  2. The Hook says:

    You are an amazing person, my friend.

  3. SocietyRed says:

    Kids are amazing and so are moms like you. Such a sweet post, and as long as you love and cook, everything else falls into place.

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    I don’t often tear up, but your post made me do so. I don’t know what more to say than that. Filled me with a mother’s hope.

  5. rossmurray1 says:

    Sorry to hear you’re going through another rough time. Remember that some of the most amazing people were “not every kid.”

Divulge your thoughts...

