Eric invited me to post on his incredible blog – where people share their experiences of mental, emotional and physical health conditions. I’m honored to have been asked and allowed to write about my feelings for my son.

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. The Hook says:

    What can I say?
    You’re a wonder.

  2. Just, WOW. I have so much admiration for the journey you were forced to take as parents — not for the weak of heart. Your son is nothing short of a miracle. Love this happy ending. 🙂

    • Thanks Grippy-
      Ya know, if you put aside the horror parts of it, it was an amazing and fantastic journey. We met people that we will never forget, saw how much love people can pour into a person they have never even met and realized how much we can deal with when thrown into the ring. I wish my son never had this happen – but since it did, I’d not change that journey one bit.

      • I think this falls under the umbrella of, “God works in mysterious ways.” Your response and emotional growth, along with the wisdom and compassion you gained during this ordeal seems highly evolved – I don’t think we can grow in leaps and bounds like this from living a stagnant, easy life. It’s too bad it takes pain and suffering to complete this journey. At least you can put this in your rear view mirror and stand all amazed. 🙂

        • Thank you – I think the only way to cope is to move forward. Early on, Scott (my husband) asked people not to come into the NICU and cry or be distressed because he did not want Doorbell to ever think he was not doing enough for us – and that thought stayed with me thru everything and helped me deal with it all.
          I like the rear-view mirror indeed!

  3. El Guapo says:

    Wow! Go you and your husband for never losing faith, and never writing off your son.
    I can’t imagine what you go through.
    Listening to the doctors, but doing your own research and trying options that you’re more comfortable with first, but keeping the door open for other treatments sounds like a great way to go through this.

    Rock on, Doorbell!

    • Thanks El Guapo –
      I know docs get a lot of shit – but we had some amazing doctors and nurses; those people are the miracles as well. I have to try everything b/c there’s no way I’d know any of it on my own. I firmly believe in people knowledge as a resource.

Divulge your thoughts...

