Am I the ONLY One?

Hmmm….seems everywhere I look these days, people are all overjoyed about Spring.  Well, maybe not the people that are waking up to a blanket of white fluffiness – but all the other people out there.

Am I the only one that dreads Spring? Isn’t there another soul out there that feels overwhelming sadness to see Winter leave us? For me, a desert dweller, Spring only leads to Summer.  Summer leads to hot. I don’t really like hot all that much.  Too much sun depresses me. It sucks the “happy” right out of my day.

Don’t get me wrong – I love flowers and all that jazz…but I love Autumn and Winter more. Gloomy rainy days fill me with elation and I feel myself rejuvenate. There’s a little spring in my step; I feel bouncy and joyous…then I turn cartwheels down the hallways at work. I wonder if I have some sort of weird opposite “Seasonal Affective Disorder“?  Or maybe it’s just channeling my inner “Morticia Addams”

All I know is that I miss biking in 40 degree morning air.

Calvin's Dad and I have some things in commonComic by Bill Watterson

Calvin’s Dad and I have some things in common
Comic by Bill Watterson

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Biking, Health, Humor, Mental Health, Random Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

116 Responses to Am I the ONLY One?

  1. Mick McCoy says:

    A cyclist who prefers winter!The weather must be milder there than here (Melbourne Australia). Or perhaps I need to channel my inner Gomez Adams? Probably not a bad thing anyway

  2. Maggie O'C says:

    hahaha, so I guess you’re not the ONLY one. One of the chosen few, perhaps? Spring is my most favorite time of the year!!! FAVE!!!

  3. twindaddy says:

    I love winter, too.

  4. unfetteredbs says:

    Nice to see a different opinion other than us whiney cold people. I am really really really tired of the white stuff. I’m tired of being cold to the bone but I love our change of seasons up here.
    I should be sending you an email soon. Thank you very much– unless you have changed your mind– which is FINE

  5. djmatticus says:

    I grew up in the desert too. Spring meant one thing, and one thing only: wind. Hot, dry, searing, blowing a gale, knock you of your feet and rip the flesh from your bones with sand wind. And then following spring there was summer, which as you mentioned, was hot. Very hot. 110+ days hot. Oh, and more wind, because we never seem to run out of that in the desert. I moved to the coast when I went off to college and never looked back. Then I discovered snowboarding, and now I love winter more than all the other seasons combined. Bring on the cold days and the snow!

  6. robincoyle says:

    I could never live where moss is likely to grow between my toes. Give me sun! Give me warm! Give me spring! While you are at it, give me a gin and tonic!

  7. The Hook says:

    At least Morticia was hot.

  8. You are NOT the only one. I find summer to be oppressive, and I’m with you in that too much sunshine gives me a major case of the sadsies. In your part of the country it’s even worse! SUPER HOT summers. I grew up in California, and moved to the PNW (Portland) specifically to get away from long, hot summers. I like it here because we don’t really get snow (but it’s easy to access) and the temperatures don’t typically dip below the 30’s save a few weeks in the winter. Even the summer is mild! 70-80 most of the time with a few random 90 degree days in mid-august. If you can get over the dampness for a few months a year, you’d love it.

  9. MissFourEyes says:

    I’ll take cold over hot. But then I’m sweating my butt off at the moment, so ask me in November and I’ll say I like, no LOVE, hot.

  10. Carrie Rubin says:

    “Am I the only one that dreads Spring?”—Um, yes, you might be. But although I love the feeling of spring (which sadly isn’t here yet in Ohio), fall is still my favorite season. And although I certainly don’t mind summer, my white legs kind of dread it…

  11. iRuniBreathe says:

    I’m sure there is a reverse SAD to be had when you dread the light and warmth. I’m not one for extremes of weather (winter, summer) but I do need my bright and light. Plus I do like it warm, but not hot. We each have our peculiarities and likes – the trick is making it work where we live in the climate we have.
    You could keep your blinds drawn til evening, Morticia.

  12. gcole111 says:

    It’s called Summer SAD–and I have it, too. It doesn’t bother me as much in Engtland because, while we have the long days of summer here too they’re generally overcast and not so hot.

  13. jmlindy422 says:

    I love Spring because that’s when I have 40 degree weather! Winter? I have to run indoors on a treadmill. Spring and Autumn are perfect for running. Summer is WAY too hot, but I get it done anyway.

  14. Brigitte says:

    After a very long and depressing winter for so many reasons, I’m looking forward to Spring. I love the longer days whether they be sunny or cloudy. I do love a stormy day, always have so I totally get that. But cold, dark, wind, snow, rain — over that in a big way. I once lived somewhere where the Springs were very short and then it was HOT, so I get you there too! Too hot is just as bad as too cold. Fall’s my favorite season, then Spring. The summers aren’t horrible here so maybe that’s the reason. That and the light. Love all that light. :).

  15. I hate Summer and Winter. I’m equal opportunity. Summer is too hot, and you get all the pollen. The heat sucks the will to live. Winter is too cold, and you get the mold. And the cold. And the dark. And the gloomy. Spring and Fall are okay, but are way too short around here. Mostly I will complain about anything. Apparently. 😀

    I would love to live one of those places where it is always 70 degrees.

  16. Cathy Ulrich says:

    I love Spring, now that I’m in Colorado, but when I lived in Miami, I felt the same as you about it. It just meant the heat was coming.

  17. mairedubhtx says:

    No, you are not the only one. I HATE the summer in south Texas. I hate the days of 100+ degree days all summer long. Give me autumn ans winter any day. We’ve already had a 95 degree day. Too warm for my taste. And the allergies have started again. We have winter allergy season too but spring allergies are bad. I for one am not a happy camper to see summer arrive.

  18. rossmurray1 says:

    I could use a couple more X-country skis, so I’m down with this snow. Not so much the shovelling, though.

  19. I am totally ready for spring but I completely understand your sentiment. 70 degrees is perfect. 80 is pushing it but I can handle it and love the sunshine. But North Carolina summers are HOT, HUMID, SUFFOCATING, and basically miserable after about the first week of June. Once I get there I’m ready for fall. Also I LOVE snow. So yeah. I get it! But right now I really really really want bare feet in soft green grass and flower beds and vegetable gardens.

  20. We’re going into Autumn/Fall. While I love the cooler temperatures and knowing that I can wear my beautiful boots soon, I regard the darkness in which I must wake up with dread. I can wake up at 5am when the sun is shining, but I can’t bring myself to get up in the dark.

  21. Lisa says:

    I have to agree with you my friend. I think the older I get the more the heat drives me mad. Gone are the days of the “oh it’s hot I think I’ll call my friends to come over & go swimming”. Nope. Theres a few reasons Banannarama called it a Cruel, cruel summer.

  22. Sorry chica, I am all about the sun and sum sum summer time! (But remind me I said that when I complain about 30 straight days of 100+, lol).

    You like the new Bowie?

    • I haven’t gotten it yet -it’s coming from Amazon! And do you like it?

      I haven’t gotten any emails lately from your blog – are you still writing? Or should I check my junk folder??

      • I didn’t get it yet, I was waiting for your review! People Mag rated it pretty highly though.

        I took a little break around the same time you took yours, but I’ve been back for a couple of weeks. I’m pushing the button on one in the morning with running songs, so be on the look-out!

        Hope you’ve been doing well. xo

  23. Ugh. Unlike you, I like summer because I live in the Pacific Northwest and summers are actually pretty nice. I do dislike spring, though, for the most part. It just means rain rain rain, oh look sun- rain rain rain.

    At least there are pretty flowers blooming everywhere, right? (A consolation prize)

  24. Elyse says:

    I just read something that said that the reason they call it “seasonal” is because some people hate spring/summer and others hate fall/winter. It goes both ways.

    That doesn’t mean you’re not weird. It’s just that you’re weird about other things.

  25. Jennifer says:

    Coming from the other side of the word, in all ways, I’ve lived in desert heat and seriously, they can keep it. But we don’t have winters like you guys do, so I can’t compare my cold to yours. All year round is good here, coz there are days where you get all seasons in be day, hell in a couple of hours even…

  26. Here I am posting all these blossoming trees! But I get it, Denise. It’s much the same for me here. Winters are not dreadful enough to miss, and in fact, they’re refreshing. We have about 2 weeks of perfect spring weather and then it gets HOT HOT!!! Which like you, I could do without. I don’t like the heat. I could stand to live in Portland or Seattle where it rains a lot. Hang in there, miss!

  27. I can’t wait for Spring. Try the Pacific Northwest. You would love it. Here, we have a high today of 45 F,Last week it rained or was foggy or cloudy five out of seven days. Sure, it’s is drop dead gorgeous here, what with the bald eagles flying past my living room window. And we can still go skiing next week. But I can wait till Spring when this place truly becomes a paradise. I used to like cloudy days and rainy days . . . they help you appreciate the sunny ones, as long as you’re not dripping with sweat. Come on up to British Columbia. The people are really cool.

  28. El Guapo says:

    Eh, keep the cold.
    BRING ON THE SPRING, BABY!!!

  29. You and I are at opposite ends of the light spectrum, as it were. I need light and bright days or I wilt and die. Funny how we each physically, maybe emotionally, have different light requirements like plants! Ha!

Divulge your thoughts...

