The Time is Now ~

Greetings People ~

I’ve carved out some legit writing time. Pre-Bikram yoga at 6:30PM {it’s been two days since I’ve been; I feel the addiction jitters starting to set in} and post-pulling apart an entire child’s bedroom to paint – he has a drum kit in there – it’s no small task and at times like this, it makes me regret his reading habit…but I digress.  The time is here and the time is now – so let’s get to it.

If you haven’t noticed, I’m rather fond of the ‘~’ but I suspect I’m abusing it in a way it wasn’t intended.  I have to confess, I’m not sure what it’s actually used for and I possibly don’t know its name (I always automatically think it’s a tilde – but that goes over an n – so obviously it’s not that). However, I have felt it looks awfully good as a more spiced up dash…and I’ve become quite attached to it by now.   I’m also pretty confident in the fact that I overuse the ellipsis as well; and possibly “as well”.

Now that you, well I, mention it, I also tend to not prefer my period on the inside of a word or phrase set off with double quotes when it’s at the end of a sentence.  So I refuse to do it.   I’ve also been known to indulge overly much with appositives. And I will never give up the awkward turn-of-phrase regardless of how many people find it an annoyance.

It’s funny, I love grammar but I never thought about how much I bend the rules in this game.

But anyway, I wanted talk about parsley and the moment got away from me…and it’s time to get myself ready to ride – so I’ll have to come back to it on another day.

I had wanted to mention that this post was somewhat influenced by Le Clown’s post regarding some language police where he resides and promptly ran out of time. I am grateful to the fluidity of language and the ability to not be repressed in my usage of it by those that think they ‘know better’. 

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Humor, Language, Random Thoughts, Secrets, Words, Writing, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to The Time is Now ~

  1. The Hook says:

    The time is now – to mention this post rocked!

  2. Okay, I’ll admit it…. I’m a total ellipsis whore…. there, I said it…. I’m trying to cut back with the help of the dash – but not having much luck.

  3. robincoyle says:

    I am a fan/abuser of the “~” as well. I guess I am a fan/abuser of “as well” as well. I call the “~’ a squirm.

  4. Slo-Man says:

    Ah ! Split infinitives forever!

  5. MissFourEyes says:

    I have no idea what ‘~’ is used for either. As a kid I thought it looked kind of like a little mustache (still do)
    I’m a comma abuser, I abuse the comma. I’ve been trying to cut back.

  6. Fresh Ginger says:

    I use “…” all of the time. No reason. I’m addicted. I’m pretty sure I can’t …™ yet. I’m not up for The Magnificence.

  7. But I’ve noticed that you’re not fond of dangling participles. They’re my favorite. I think I just like the word dangling.

  8. Le Clown says:

    Denise,
    ~™.
    Le Clown

  9. I have an ellipsis addiction as well (And an ‘as well’ addiction.) (And the whole period thing inside or outside of a quote or a parenthesis.) Mostly though the ellipsis. I do it so much, even on facebook, I think its my fear of commitment. To actually end a thought…or try to… (its better to just fade off into the sunset.) and this ~ looks like a moustache when you do this: ‘~’ – it looks like a funny confused face. love it. (i also don’t capitalize when I should.) (We are all running rampant on here!!)

  10. Carrie Rubin says:

    I believe the ~ symbol is called a tilde. I’ve always used it to mean ‘approximately.’ For example, I might write, “He smokes ~ 1 pack per day.” At least that’s what I think it means.

  11. I totally abuse this ~ . No idea what I’m supposed to use it for but it makes my email signature look pretty so there.

  12. I just make things up as I go along. I’m with Guapo. I’m lucky if I can read what I just wrote. For the record, I don’t even remember what an appositive is or what appositives are. But I’m pretty sure I just ended that sentence with a preposition, which is a no-no, and I started the next one with “But.” So, obviously you never need to worry about impressing this here audience! haha!

  13. Jennifer says:

    I love the ~ but what is the ellipsis?? I’m always using brackets(parenthesis?) and I love the use of “…words…”

  14. indytony says:

    It’s funny what quirks we have as writers (mine is overusing parenthetical remarks). I have vowed many times to reform (yet consistently feel the need to whisper something in the reader’s ear ~ hence, more parentheses).

  15. twindaddy says:

    I’m not sure what just happened here, Ladycakes.

  16. Ha, Denise, I totally associate that fancy dash with you! It’s fun and so you, as well…

  17. rossmurray1 says:

    Who was that masked mercenary?

  18. El Guapo says:

    I don’t worry too much about grammar. I’m just happy if I can understand what I wrote.

Divulge your thoughts...

