Compelled

Compel
: to drive or urge forcefully or irresistibly <hunger compelled him to eat>
2to cause to do or occur by overwhelming pressure <public opinion compelled her to sign the bill>

I often can’t help myself. It happens all the time.  I am compelled – without ill intent even – to reply to a comment – without end.  A few of my friends like to rib me about it.  I have a hard time knowing when to stop.

In my own defense, it is not a compulsion to have the ‘last word’ (well, in an argument, maybe) – it is born out of many, many, many, many years of note writing/passing with a couple of my friends throughout school.  I was the queen of passing notes – I don’t know how teachers did not notice that I often spent my school days reading, writing – writing a lot – and passing.  I do the same in email – and it’s hardly ever just a few words. I don’t know why, but reading comments lights up my brain and I can write with a fluidity that I do not always have when I’m posting. I guess I’m more of a ‘conversational’ writer, if there is such a thing.

So if I’m reading your work, and I comment and you respond – I will probably respond to your response…and I mean no harm – I just feel compelled…  This is how I am ~

It's true... Photo Credit: www.lucindaliterary.com

It’s true…
Photo Credit: http://www.lucindaliterary.com

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Childhood, Humor, Language, Random Thoughts, Reading, Relationships, Words, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

101 Responses to Compelled

  1. You know that if you do have this compulsion then you should probably sort out the settings on your comment threads so they don’t all get squashed over to the right hand side…if it pleases thee.

  2. unfetteredbs says:

    I think I suffer from the same compulsion –especially with the email.(as you know) So of course,I think you are pretty fantastical.

  3. The Hook says:

    You can’t fight your programming, young lady.
    Embrace your inner nature!

  4. I LOVE playing blog tag. Back and forth is great. And sometimes it’s entertaining just reading the comments on a post. I look back at some of my own posts and laugh more at the comments than anything else.

  5. Jennifer says:

    So if I am compelled to respond to your last comment, will it just keep on keeping on, and on, and on…

  6. I have been so busy NOT responding to other bloggers that I haven’t been able, until now, to NOT respond to you.

  7. I totally relate to this. I’m a conversational blogger, myself. It’s much easier to engage in a back and forth than it is to write a post. Although, I would NEVER say that about you, Denise. You seem to be great with all things pertaining to writing. 🙂 It’s true.

  8. indytony says:

    I completely understand. I have to laugh when I see the numbers for “top commenters” in my Stats. The top commenter (other than me) has, like 25. I have close to 300. (Your numbers must be astronomical).

  9. stephrogers says:

    Blog conversations are awesome. I’ve made a cool mercenary friend and married off my first born all before lunch!

  10. And SEE… ^^^ I’m not the only one who loves this about you!

  11. Kylie says:

    And that’s what we love about you!
    Nice new look. Or maybe it’s been around for awhile but I missed it because I’ve been MIA.

  12. Melanie says:

    You are in good company. I get extra giddy and ignore all pressing matters when a one-two comment becomes a nice little chat.

  13. MissFourEyes says:

    Don’t stop. It’s what makes you, YOU!

  14. twindaddy says:

    Ladycakes, I love our comment conversations.

  15. Carrie Rubin says:

    I do the same–I enjoy the back-and-forth. So respond away!

  16. iRuniBreathe says:

    I often wonder if I should just be a serial commenter rather than write my own blog posts. Not that I do much now, but sometimes it feels like I can only exert effort (and creativity) for one or the other.
    I also very much appreciate your comments. ALL of them.

  17. Fresh Ginger says:

    I suddenly feel compelled to comment. I can’t stop myself. I think I will just use this space to ramble on for a while … 🙂

  18. Elyse says:

    I do that too. Sleep sometimes puts a stop to it. But not always. Boredom helps toooooooooo

  19. rossmurray1 says:

    It’s endearing. And entertaining. Don’t stop.

  20. Le Clown says:

    Denise,
    Let’s do this again. And….START!
    Le Clown

Divulge your thoughts...

