Looking Up ~ Being Aware

Recently, I was having coffee with one of my friends and we were talking about being aware – that many people are not aware of the world around them – they don’t take the time to notice what’s going (often times if it’s not happening on a tiny screen in their hand – they are oblivious).  And it made me remember an interesting story – which means that now you all get to read about it.

The Vermilion Flycatcher

When I was younger, as was my son, we spent a lot of time at the park. Whilst I’m not a hardcore birder, many of my friends are, and I love to do casual birding. And I’ve developed an insatiable appetite for birds (seeing not eating).  So I taught my son to be on the lookout for birds. The park is an excellent place for this – obviously.

Anyway, we always see the Vermilion Flycatcher at every park we play at. I mean EVERY park – all over Tucson, AZ.  It is quite a stunning bird.  We have dubbed it our ‘spirit park bird’.  So one day we were playing at the park amidst the trees and jungle gyms with a lot of other kids and parents. Dorian looked up and said “Mom – there’s our Vermilion Flycatcher!”.

The gentleman next to use looked up and exclaimed “WOW! What a beautiful bird! Is it rare? I’ve never seen a bird like that before.”

I agreed it was a beautiful bird – but told him I think it’s quite common at this particular park.  We see it all the time,

He said he’d never really bothered looking up at the birds before and maybe he should start.

I smiled and agreed.

Sometimes we just need to look up once in a while – with eyes wide and see what there is to see – not what we expect to see.  I like that lesson in life.

The Vermilion Flycatcher ~ a most GORGEOUS bird Photo Credit: www.birdfriends.com

The Vermilion Flycatcher ~ a most GORGEOUS bird
Photo Credit: http://www.birdfriends.com

This post is for my friend, Ted Schredd – he knows about looking up and being aware. 

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Birding, Blogging, Childhood, Children, Random Thoughts, Story, Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Looking Up ~ Being Aware

  1. Rohan 7 Things says:

    Brilliant post! So profound, just think of all we are missing by not focusing in on the beautiful details of everyday life 🙂

    This post made me happy, thanks for sharing!

    Rohan.

  2. Pingback: Happy Fri-o-licious Day | UnfetteredBS

  3. calahan says:

    Is the Flycather related to the Chickadee, at all? They have similar beaks and body style. I love birds. 🙂

  4. Going in to this story I thought it was going to be a tale of warning and I was gonna feel like an oblivious woman that needs to carry mace. But it was so happy!!! There is so much truth in the phrase “stop and smell the roses”. Gorgeous bird, happy story– thanks!!!

  5. MissFourEyes says:

    The gym I (rarely) go to overlooks a bunch of trees. Every morning there are so many colorful birds, the sight is amazing.
    Great story.

  6. jlheuer says:

    My husband and I are birders. I loved this post. We have traveled to your neck of the woods often because you lots of great birds we don’t get in Wisconsin. I hope the guy you met keeps looking up. Hey we’ve got a gadwall right now in the snow melt pond across the road! Keep your eyes open.

    • OH HOW BEAUTIFUL! Living is Tucson is pretty special for bird watching. I love to watch birds in ‘typical’ places, like parks and golf courses – so many people not seeing those birds is amazing within itself. My favorite birding experience was in Raleigh, NC – I saw a flock of Cedar Waxwings that stunned me. I feel that way about Red Winged Blackbirds too.
      Thanks for reading!

  7. Lily Mugford says:

    Very good advice… we are often to hurried to really see. We are missing so much in our rush to get places. Thanks for the reminder to keep looking up and being aware.

  8. Thanks for sharing this, Denise. I loved this. What a gorgeous bird. It seems like it would be hard to miss! This is a good reminder for us all.

  9. Diane C says:

    I love watching for birds. I particularly love watching for the birds of prey. We have a rescue centre for injured raptors and it is such a lovely way to spend an afternoon.

  10. unfetteredbs says:

    Good reminder -thanks. Sometimes we do forget the beauty around us

  11. stephrogers says:

    I have to admit to having tunnel vision a lot of the time. You’ve inspired me to make an effort to notice the little things. Thanks!

  12. Jennifer says:

    What a gorgeous little bird. Love his colouring. Bright and cheery. 🙂

  13. Ted Schredd says:

    What a fantastic little post.. don’t forget to smell the roses and spot the beautiful birds!

  14. Carrie Rubin says:

    I am so bad at that–being aware of my surroundings. I get so lost in my own thoughts, I often don’t pay attention. The exception to that is if I’m walking alone to my car in the dark or in an unsafe place. Then I’m hyper-vigilant.

    Good story. Something I need to be more mindful about.

  15. rossmurray1 says:

    That is indeed beautiful. But I’d be worried about your insatiable appetite for birds, Sylvester.

  16. twindaddy says:

    What if I run into something because I’m looking up instead of watching where I’m going?

  17. Elyse says:

    Good story. Beautiful bird.

Divulge your thoughts...

