Life is a Practice – Do it Again

I just read Tracy’s post about being aware of the personalities in your own self – how important it is to be mindful and in the ‘now’ instead of always living in the past or trying to fly into the future.

It reminds me of what I gleaned from T’ai Chi and Bikram Yoga (yes, I’m on about Bikram again).  Life is a practice. You just do it again. Then you do it again. Then once more – make a small change – think about the movements and don’t get distracted with what’s going on in the peripherals. Then you do it again. Then once more. Than again.  There’s no race, no ‘end’, nothing to ‘get to’ – you’re there – you just do it again.  Lather, rinse, repeat.

I love that about both T’ai Chi and Bikram Yoga – it just repeats but it’s always different.  The different is from within me – the world will turn regardless of what I do – so I need to be the ‘difference’ in my life.  I crave repetition with change. For me – that is what my life is. Repetition with change.  I just do it again.

My life is my practice. I always have another chance to do it again.  Always.

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Bikram Yoga, Health, Philosophy, Random Thoughts, Words, Writing, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Life is a Practice – Do it Again

  1. So that’s why I feel like I’m on repeat. It’s supposed to be that way. Thanks for clearin’ that up. And WOOT for the sweaty Yoga mention. We are all about Yoga these days. I’m wondering about Ta’i Chi – is it easier than Yoga? I’m thinking it’s not as bendy.

    I’d like to get this stomach flu or whatever off the rinse cycle though. Bleh.

    • I love T’ai Chi – it’s ‘easier’ than Yoga but it’s not – it’s just very different. In comparison with Bikram Yoga, it’s repetitive – but the challenge is to have good form and be slow –
      But regular yoga is always different – and I can’t get a regular Yoga-Groove, as it were – just for HOT yoga!

      We’ve had stomach crud in Tucson too –

      The Christian Yoga is kinda of scary 🙂

  2. The Hook says:

    Great perspective, my lovely friend!
    I love The Kinks!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Be the change you want to see, and it will happen.

  4. battlingbikrambeingbig says:

    It repeats but it is different. I love this. I will adopt this mantra next time I am feeling flat to help push that extra bead of sweat and energy out of my limbs at Bikram. =)

  5. stephrogers says:

    The video looks fab!
    I wish I felt this as true in my own life. I think it depends how turbulent things are maybe? That the world will keep turning is certainly true. I think I need to work on being as centred as you are. It’s admirable.

    • I spend a lot of time in my own head – so maybe that’s it – it has come with age and concentration – and a need for repetition (not mindless busy work- that’s drudgery) – it’s a balm for my hyperactive soul. I don’t think it’s necessarily admirable – it’s just, for me, when things are turbulent that repetition helps me to focus.

  6. Carrie Rubin says:

    I hear you, but when it comes to yoga, doing the same thing over and over just bores me, which is odd, considering how much I like my routine. 😉 But I definitely need to get better at living in the now.

  7. "HE WHO" says:

    Yeah, You really got me going. A friend who taught yoga once told me of the Yogic principles, and the Satya really made sense. Leaves you head open with room to learn!

  8. iRuniBreathe says:

    Chop wood, carry water! Or something like that.
    I like the idea of simplicity in that you can repeat something countless times with intention, but it is never the same.

  9. rossmurray1 says:

    I like that there’s a slight sitar effect to Dave Davies’ guitar on the break at 1:24. Seems fitting to your topic, somehow. Love that song.

  10. I love this perspective. So simple and so true.

  11. Cathy Ulrich says:

    So true, Denise. When I was doing Bikram, I found that every single class was different. The room, the people, my body and it was wonderful to focus, just on the now. I get to do that frequently in my healing practice – be in the now and focus on who is in front of me (and inside me, for that matter).

Divulge your thoughts...

