I Feel for my Mother

An August 2012 post for Re-Blog-A-Thog Monday….don’t worry – more content coming soon… just not as soon as I thought…

The Mercenary Researcher

I feel for my mother. She desperately wanted a girl. She got me instead.  Not to say I’m not feminine; I wear skirts, I wore makeup, I procreated. But I suspect I wasn’t the kind of girl she really wanted.

She wanted this girl:

She got this one instead:

During high school, I remember her asking me why I didn’t want to be a cheerleader; why didn’t I want to wear Guess jeans instead of black skirts from Goodwill? Why didn’t I wear ‘nice make-up’? Why didn’t I wear lipstick? Why didn’t I paint my nails? How did I expect to get a husband with tattoos and a nose ring? Why? Why? Why?

I don’t know. But I did manage to snag a husband who hates cheerleading, makeup, designer clothing, painted nails and girly shoes.

However, I think I’m missing some basic “girl” genetics. I hate most clothes and most…

View original post 882 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Childhood, Children, Humor, Random Thoughts, shopping, Story, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I Feel for my Mother

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    There’s just too many kinds of girls to be saying sorry for being any one kind of them. Princesses have their place, but oh so do we too 🙂

  2. The Hook says:

    I have to agree: this was one of your best and brightest posts. Ever!

  3. Carrie Rubin says:

    Now I know why you like my ugly man shoes and my wild cat boots. 😉

    So nice to hear about another woman who doesn’t fall head over feet for the latest fashions. Then again, it sounds like you still have your own unique style; mine is whatever’s at The Gap or Banana Republic and easiest to get to. And I’m also thrilled to learn I was not the only junior or high school girl who never wanted to be a cheerleader. People always thought it odd that I didn’t want to ‘try out.’

  4. This is one of my favorite posts of yours! You told me something this weekend that really made me feel good. When I said I must not be a good feminist because I don’t mind that my daughter wants to be a princess you said, “A real feminist lets their daughter be whatever she wants to be.”

Divulge your thoughts...

