Lyxdexia is a Terrible Thing

A few years ago I attended a conference for American Public Television (APT). I was reviewing the program of speakers for various events and dinners.  I was curious to see Bruce Jenner on the agenda speaking about Anorexia at one of the dinners.

I sat through the entire presentation waiting to hear him talk about men and anorexia – it’s impact on athletes etc… nada. Instead he talked about his struggles in school, reading, and self confidence issues. I was a bit miffed until I realized he was talking about DYSLEXIA. Duh…I looked at the program a bit more closely, and low & behold… it was about dyslexia – imagine my surprise.

Yes, yes it has ~

Yes, yes it has ~

Do I have to point out the IRONY in that situation? I’ve got numerical dyslexia (meaning I often times transpose numbers and when I was young I wrote my numbers backwards)  and at times, if I’m going too fast, I will read and see things a bit wacky at first glance. I’m an avid reader but I cannot skim stuff for the life of me…

And that’s my fast and funny story of the day.

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Childhood, Humor, Random Thoughts, Reading, Story, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Lyxdexia is a Terrible Thing

  1. TammyeHoney says:

    Somedays it feels as if my dyslexia goes into hiding and then there are other days wehre it takes me forever jsut to write a sentence liek this one. Can you tell waht tyep of day I am having today? Thank you for sharing your story with your readers.

  2. This dyslexic thanks you for the laugh!!

  3. Blink says:

    hey Rutabga .. excellent writing skills you have got
    and we share a large number of interests 🙂

  4. iRuniBreathe says:

    This sounds like something I would do. From now on I’m making melonade!

  5. Rohan 7 Things says:

    That is hilarious! I wonder how many dyslexics where there thinking the very same thing lol!!

    Needed a good giggle, thanks for providing 🙂

    Rohan.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Been there a hundred times, and even now I read too quickly and see the wrong thing. Oh the irony though.. Very funny 🙂

  7. Diane C says:

    Does this make him the intellectual giant of his family????

    • Diane C says:

      OMG, this is too funny. I just read your post to my husband and realized that I totally missed the part where you said that you missed that it was about dyslexia. I’m blaming mine on menopause! BTW, I do the number switching thing too, and I’m a librarian as well. More than once I’ve ordered the wrong book by putting down the wrong ISBN.

  8. Elyse says:

    I always thought it was sidselsya. Who knew.

  9. I was ready to hear all about Bruce Jenner’s anorexia. Oh! How funny. Denise. I’m lucky I can see anything straight lately.

  10. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    That IS funny – very. Yes, irony!!

    Hope you got something out of his speech anyhow – & love the ‘if live gives you melons’ : that’s heaps funny!

  11. Been there, done that. I don’t have dyslexia, but I’m often reading but not comprehending – which makes total sense being an English major and all. I remember a cartoon where this guy has a sign in his yard that says “Beware of God” and the neighbor thinks he’s just dyslexic and means “dog” so he walks across his lawn and gets hit by a lightning bolt.

  12. rossmurray1 says:

    Did he talk about being in that movie with the Village People? I’m not even going to look that up, I’m so confident it was a real movie.

  13. RFL says:

    Ha! This took me a second, I was caught at the top trying to remember if I’d heard about Bruce’s anorexia.

  14. My friend asked me recently is she could buy my daughter an Ariel Barbie for her birthday. I read it as Anal Barbie.

  15. Smaktakula says:

    Funny story. Bruce Jenner must’ve been torked, though. Were I in his shoes, I would have marched right up to the organizer of the conference and said, “Hey man, fcku you!”

    • Ha ha – actually the program said “DYSLEXIA” – I just saw “ANOREXIA” 🙂

      I went up and told him the story b/c it was just to funny not to share…

      I think my opening line was
      “I’m so dyslexic that that I thought this about anorexia when I saw the program”

      • Smaktakula says:

        Yeah, I saw that you’d misread it, but I sacrificed honesty (and maybe just a bit of my already attenuated dignity) for the cheap Jenner/dyslexia gag.

        But in all seriousness, I do the same thing with reading too quickly. Just a couple days ago my wife was flipping through channels on TV as I was walking through the room, and one of the titles caught my eye. “Go back!” I said, and she returned to the title that had seemed so bizarre. It turned out to be something perfectly innocuous like (I don’t remember the proper title exactly) “Loving Living Fruitfully”, but I saw–and I remember this exactly–“Loving the Liver Fluke.”

  16. annesquared says:

    I have collected them all propose: Dyslexics of the world, UNTIE! 😉

Divulge your thoughts...

