I’m so tired of having to ‘achieve’

Today’s Daily Prompt was about goals  – specifically this:

When you started your blog, did you set any goals? Have you achieved them? Have they changed at all?

It’s ironic that this would be today’s prompt because I’ve been thinking about this never ending need in our world to always have goals and achieve something.  Why does everything have to have some sort of end or net result? Can’t I just do something for the sake of doing it without having to achieve anything or have some sort of goal in mind? Why is what we do never quite enough – why does there have to always be room for improvement? I constantly feel like my life is a series of ‘fixing the not quite right’ –

Not to say that there are not things I set out to do – like go to college, learn to think, or finish painting my kid’s room before he goes to college (he’s 10)…but I feel like I tend towards the philosophy of “if I never set out any goals, I will never be disappointed with the outcome” OR the more existential version “of all the things that could have happened, this is what happened”.   (Curmudgeon at Large – note the grammar faux pas)

So what was the question again? Oh yes, did I set goals when I started my blog…well, no. Like most things I do, I just sort of blindly jumped in and went with it. I thought it would be interesting to see where it might lead me than to wrestle it towards something specific. Or more accurately, I had not one iota of what to expect nor any kind of outcome in mind.

And I don’t knock anyone else for having goals for their blog – I know several people that are amazing with their blogs and they seem to have something very defined and specific going on.   I can’t take that kind of pressure – not the pressure to not fail; not the pressure to succeed – but the pressure to maintain that success should I actually achieve it.

It’s been a constant theme in my life – this fear of maintaining. It’s probably something I should fix….

There's a denominational poster for everything. Photo Credit: www.fakeposters.com

There’s a denominational poster for everything.
Photo Credit: http://www.fakeposters.com

  1. 22.5 Daily Prompt: Goals | family photos food & craft
  2. Why do I write this? | Geek Ergo Sum
  3. My blog goal | Right Down My Alley
  4. Daily Prompt: Goals | The Daily Post | بيسان
  5. Let’s do some diggings | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  6. Daily Prompt: Goals | mattsden101
  7. A Bucketful of Delightful Blogging Memories | Ramisa the Authoress
  8. Daily Prompt: Goals | Pinay New Yorker
  9. Goals | Nanuschka’s Blog
  10. This blogging malarkey… | thoughtsofrkh
  11. What I Named My Blog After | Daily Prompt: Goals | likereadingontrains
  12. Score an Own-Goal Blame the Goalie- (Daily Prompt) | The Rider
  13. spring reflections | greetings from england
  14. Daily Prompt: Goals | I really just pretend to know stuff
  15. My blogging goals | Sue’s Trifles
  16. Daily Prompt: Goals « Mama Bear Musings
  17. My Goal Is To Write Gooder | The Jittery Goat
  18. Daily Prompt: Goals | Basically Beyond Basic
  19. Daily Prompt: Goals | What I Want, What I Will Achieve | With Seasons Changes
  20. A Long and Arduous Journey | Heather D. Roberts
  21. GOAL! | Misifusa’s Blog
  22. Daily Prompt: Goals | No Effect Observed
  23. Kicking Goals | Tony’s Texts
  24. 89 Days | Venti Mocha Moments
  25. Daily Prompt: Goals | Let There be Peace on Earth
  26. Blogging Goals | Travellin’ Thru Rambles
  27. Love. Life. | Setting Goals for a Personal Blog
  28. Daily Prompt: My Goals For Blogging | My Daily Prompt Blog
  29. No. | Hope* the happy hugger
  30. Goals | Code Name Incog

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Aversions, Blogging, Daily Prompt, Philosophy, Random Thoughts, Society, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

110 Responses to I’m so tired of having to ‘achieve’

  1. lolabees says:

    I think of this often and lump New Year’s Resolutions and Bucket lists in the same category as goals. It’s nice to do just to do, instead of needing to achieve. Goals tend to put us under a lot of pressure, right? I don’t want to set myself up for failure or disappointment, yet I know I need some sort of structure to get things done. I did actually take a cool goal-setting workshop a few years ago that helped me set goals without the pressure.

    I’m with you though. Blogging goals do not work for me!

  2. mairedubhtx says:

    Whether you have goals or not doesn’t really matter. What matters is that your readers like your blog. And that YOU like you blog. And we do. And I think YOU do. So that’s a good thing. I set some goals for myself but they changed a bit as I went along. That’s okay, too, I guess. What’s important is that everyone’s happy.

  3. Pingback: Goals: Thanks Everyone! | Khana's Web

  4. Pingback: Blog GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOALS! – Prompt du Jour | Edward Hotspur

  5. indytony says:

    Love the photo.
    While I think it’s okay to set goals, I firmly believe it is better to focus on the process rather than the outcome. I have a rather broad goal of writing and teaching for a living, but I would drive myself insane if I tried to quantify it any further. I would much rather just write daily and teach when I have the opportunity and trust I am moving toward my goal.

  6. Is it wrong for me to say that I don’t like anyone who has goals for their blog. I only like people who are lazy and uninspired like me. High achievers really get on my nerves. LOL!!! Isn’t it enough that our blogs just exist? Seriously. Don’t we have the most awesome community of caring peeps? I think that is our collective achievement and now we can relax. 😉

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt;Goals | terry1954

  8. Brigitte says:

    Ruta, I always say if it’s not fun then stop for awhile — whatever it is. When it’s fun again, then begin again. And again. My blog began as what I thought was a “writing” blog. I don’t know exactly what it is but when I don’t feel like it, I don’t feel a pressure to post. It’s like anything else I think…sometimes one is inspired and it’s effortless, other times — not so much.

  9. Le Clown says:

    Denise,
    It would be shorter to say that my goals change periodically, as they are continually reevaluated, reexamined and dissected. As a matter of fact, I might have a different view of this very comment tomorrow.
    Le Clown

  10. Pingback: My Goal Is To Write Gooder | The Jittery Goat

  11. Jennifer says:

    You just read my mind, mostly. I started my blog with the same intentions. I had no goal or destination – kudos to those that have their game plan and work on it – but for me, the achievement is having it and knowing that I am doing what I want. I am not doing it for any other reason.

  12. Pingback: How To Be More Productive | Self-Help for Creatively Deprived

  13. La La says:

    Interesting. I don’t have goals either. Goals are for over achievers. I just want to talk about dumb things sometimes and people read it.

  14. Pingback: Bloggy Goals? | Stuphblog

  15. Here’s what I’ve set out to do – set the bar really, really low then whatever you do it’s impressive! More on that . . .http://aliceatwonderland.wordpress.com/2012/01/01/new-years-eve/

  16. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Goals | writinglikeastoner

  17. Pingback: Do 15 New Things in 30 Days | Cheri Speak

  18. Elyse says:

    A series of fixing the not quite right. Perfect.

    I started mine as a political blog but found I liked it better when I post about different subjects. So I do.

  19. MissFourEyes says:

    “Can’t I just do something for the sake of doing it without having to achieve anything or have some sort of goal in mind?” So with you on this. I blog to get away from all the goals in life. Just publishing each post is like a goal achieved, and it’s good enough.

  20. Rohan 7 Things says:

    I definitely did set goals at the beginning, I had a clear reason to blog: to support my book writing. I set a schedule of 2 posts per week and went for it. So far I’ve managed to keep up with my goals but part of the challenge is not beating yourself up if you don’t meet a goal or target. I’ve studies non dualism and Stoic philosophy which has helped with the whole “achieving” or “improving” thing.

    I’m just living out my life, it’s fun to have some targets and goals but in the end you don’t get to “win” life, there’s no rules, it’s not a competition. As Marcus Aurelius says one day we’ll all be gone, and eventually even the very memory of us will cease to exist. That sounds depressing, but I find it empowering. It’s like “hey chill out, just do what you can, enjoy what you can, and don’t get too uptight about anything because one day no one’s even gonna remember any of this” haha 🙂

    Thanks for sharing, very very good post!

    Rohan.

    • Rohan, it’s funny that you say what you say b/c you and Le Clown were in my mind regarding a blog with something specific and defined.

      All good points – I mentioned before there’s this pull of western vs eastern thought about it (in my interpretation)… and it’s a balance –

      on an aside – did you get the email I sent with the DWF link?

      • Rohan 7 Things says:

        Ah I just checked my email’s junk folder and there it was! Definitely not junk 🙂 Thanks for that I’ll check it properly when I get the chance, sounds very interesting.

        Yes, I make no effort to hide my intentions hehe. I have a lot of fun blogging and taking part in the community but I definitely started out with a clear goal to help focus my writing and promote my work.

        It’s evolved into a lot more than just that though which is very cool 🙂

        Rohan.

  21. Fresh Ginger says:

    My goals left me a couple of years ago (when I hit a nice round over the hill type of birthday number). It’s a good thing and bad thing. Kind of freeing because you don’t have to impress anyone (or yourself) anymore but a little depressing on the other side because you realize how meaningless most of it was in the first place. I’m with the guy on the couch, the bar is set low these days.

  22. TAE says:

    I’m somewhat in your boat. There are (now there didn’t use to be) personal goals, or at least milestones I want to reach. I’d like to stretch the word “personal” because hardly any of those goals are what society would call “successes”. And for my blog…there’s absolutely no agenda. Ha.

  23. "HE WHO" says:

    I had no goals for a blog when Michelle plunged me into it. She set it up as a birthday present and even hauled out some of my old writing to start it off. I don’t write often (these days I’d rather read) and I write whatever comes to mind. Nothing important, nothing serious. My mind is like a furnace filter that traps a lot of dust. But sometimes I’m looking for a virtual hug and sometimes I pass it on. No success. No maintenance. (No focus).The only stress is knowing there are tons of blogs waiting to be read. I might miss the odd one, but I try not to miss yours. You were one of the first bloggers to have a conversation with me and that made you a big success in my books. No maintenance needed.

  24. twindaddy says:

    Ladycakes, you are perfect just the way you are.

  25. I started my blog with the idea i mind that I like to write what I consider funny stuff and I like to make people laugh. I threw some ads on it with the notion that if I make some money from what I love to do, great! If not, I’m not any poorer than I was yesterday. Any potential income I get from “Dumbass News” will be a nice bonus for my efforts.

  26. rossmurray1 says:

    Bonus points for ironic ending.
    I think this need for goals and destination has grown more severe in the last two decades. I truly feel for kids, including my own, in the pressure they’re under — in high school! — to have their lives mapped out. Are you kidding me? Go have fun, explore, make mistakes, discover, reject, and hopefully find something you love.
    That said, I really wish my 17-year-old son wasn’t so listless about his future… Ha!

  27. TammyeHoney says:

    Keeping a simple goal of just doing is my motto. Just getting up in the morning and taking in oxygen is a plus at my age. From there on everything else is the frosting on the cake and the candles. Thank you for sharing your fresh take on the subject. 🙂 It was great.

  28. Pingback: Road Trip A-Z Challenge Day 15 | My Daily Prompt Blog

Divulge your thoughts...

