Aw geeze – I’ve been tagged with a fruitcake

Wait – that might not have come out correctly. I’ve been tagged to play tag (round number 2) and then I’ve been given a fruitcake in June.  I guess if I was an Aussie like Steph Rogers, it would at least be winter with a fruitcake.  But in Tucson, it’s just hot with moisty fruit. However, it was bestowed upon me by someone with an ultra sexy accent – so I’m gonna bend like a twig in the wind and give it a go.

Ah…astute readers, are you wondering if it was Steph who presented this to me? Because she does have a super sexy accent…but nope.   Could it have been Oleg, from The Red Elvises? His accent makes me all mois…um – melty inside.  But, alas & alack, t’was not Oleg.
It was sexy Irish/Aussie accent man, Rohan.  I’m a sucker for the way he says “part”.

Here’s the Tag Stufffff

Step 1: Post the rules

Because I’m somewhat contrary – or possibly Nerdy – I’m going to answer this in Gaelic

Tá ocras orm.

(and I didn’t promise anything about a ‘correct’ answer)

Step 2: Post a photo of yourself and eleven random facts about you. 

An raibh sé te amuigh?

seomra scoile & seomra folctha (HA HA HA HA)  – and that’s really me…and my son  – he looks like a happy puppy waiting to grow into his legs
Photo Credit: Ted Schredd (http://www.schredd.com/)

Go mbeire an diabhal leis thú!  And here are some facts

1. I have hair!

2.  I have two pieces of gravel in my knee from a biking accident from 2005

3. I like reference books – a lot

4. I own the condensed OED

5. I want to learn to speak Russian

6. I love Frank Zappa

7. My favorite color  – Tá sé dubh

8. I would still be in school if I could afford it

9. I love Bikram Yoga

10. I got to meet Eric Idle (from Monty Python, for the young ‘uns.). He is so sweet.

Cutie Patootie

Cutie Patootie – and a Ginger to boot ~ 

11. My idol is Gwen Ifill – I did get to meet her as well and I have an autographed picture of her hanging in my bedroom.  WHOO HOO!

Gwen Ifill is my FAVORITE news person EV-AH

Gwen Ifill is my FAVORITE news person EV-AH

Step 3: Answer the questions given by the tagger (Rohan)

  1. What’s your favorite toe? Camel and the one that went wee-wee all the way home
  2. When is the last time you ate a piece of toast? Last Sunday
  3. Can I have a hug? Well duh – of course – but would it be like “Mrs. Robinson” in the Graduate? 
  4. How long is a piece of string? Funicular
  5. How many roads must a man walk down before you can call him a man? Do Boulevards count? If Yes – Funicular. If No – Trolley
  6. Are these questions annoying? It’s 6AM – nope – nothing is annoying at 6AM.
  7. What’s your favorite video game? Reading a book
  8. What did you have for breakfast…4 days ago? Kind Bar post Yoga class
  9. Do you live withing 15 minutes of a body of water like a river, sea or lake? No
  10. Have you ever smelled a dog fart? Yes – too many times, in fact
  11. Have you ever hugged a shoe? No, but I did hug a baby goat bum when I was really little, at the petting zoo. 

Step 4: Create eleven new questions… 

1. Coffee? Tea?
2. Do you like the word “Moist”?
3. Would you eat snake?
4. Have you encountered a Funicular?
5. Do you tire of my use of the word “Funicular”?
6. Do you wonder why I like Rutabagas?
7. Do you speak Russian?
8. Do you have sexy accent?
9. What can I say about this Elixir? (this is recycled from my first round o’tag)
10. Do you think I can beat you in a round of marathon talking?
11. Is this number 11?

Step 5: Tag some people!

Karen
Romi
Alice
Steph
Jen
The Waiting

And I have to pass some Fruitcake….

FRUITCAKE!

FRUITCAKE!

What kind of lucky fruitcake recipient can I find….

Karen– she’s deserving of fruitcake.  Karen – I bestow unto you the most honored Fruitcake award.  Pass it on – but don’t throw it; we don’t want any head injuries in June.

Thank you, Rohan-of-the-sexy-accent, who gave me the award and big thanks to Alice who started passing around moisty fruit for no apparent reason – which is what we’d expect from AliceatWonderland.   CLAPPING ALL AROUND!

And I’d like to leave you with a few Gaelic words from the Irish Gaelic Handout:
Dún do bheal!
Póg ma thoin! It’s also a band!
Loscadh is dó ort!
Go n-ithe an cat thú, is go n-ithe an diabhal an cat and Slán agat.

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Award, Bikram Yoga, Blogging, Games, Humor, Language, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Aw geeze – I’ve been tagged with a fruitcake

  1. Pingback: Accept an Award, Save a Life (Part 2) | Anne Squared

  2. annesquared says:

    I feel so left out… I didn’t even know there WAS a FRUITCAKE award….sniff…
    My mom was so disappointed that I never entered the Miss America Pageant (why else train as a classical pianist – so you have a talent for the competition.)
    But Mom is probably the only person left this side of the Mississippi that makes fruitcake months ahead of the holiday season and soaks it in brandy? whiskey? and gives the brick-dense, heavily nut-packed items as Christmas gifts.
    Since you have now completely influenced my life in a different direction, I am nominating you for the Most Influential Blogger award, http://annesquared.wordpress.com/2013/09/04/accept-an-award-save-a-life-part-1/
    Since I completely changed all the rules for 3 different awards to suit my purposes, if you want another one that is there instead, feel free to make the change.
    Had I been thinking, I would have developed a new award – No, not the Joan Fruitcake Award, but the Accept an Award, Save a Life. – the link will get you started on part one.
    (And just for the record, in my family, we take the nuts very seriously – human or edible, real or imagined.)
    Have a great weekend!

  3. Love the answer to the favorite toe!! hahaha

  4. B.B says:

    Okay I want a cupcake.

  5. stephrogers says:

    Hey Hey! Thanks! And thank you for the accent love xx
    PS it’s not so sexy over here. Practically everybody is doing it.

  6. Daile says:

    I love that people think the Aussie accent is sexy! I need to move to a foreign land and bask in my voice’s sexiness.

  7. Wait, you still have gravel in your knee? That’s badass! I also love reference books, and you know we share a love of bikram yoga. I think you may be my perfect woman…

    • I do – and two black dots on my knee cap of the asphalt that stayed. I was in rare form that night falling off my bike at 10PM on my way home from my friend’s house – I was biking along a dirt path next to the road and it had eroded into the street and I just biffed it on my knee and side of my foot (wearing sandals)- I knew it was bad so I just picked myself up and biked home before the shock wore off. As soon as I got inside and called to Scott – I saw him seeing me and i completely feel apart (and almost puked on the kitchen floor – but he got me a trash bin b/c he loves me). Ah fun times…

  8. Better tagged with a fruitcake than as a fruitcake.

    Also, 6 AM? Really? Nothing annoys me at 6 either, because I’m still asleep! Unless I’m not asleep. Then I guess I’m annoyed that I’m not asleep. I just contradicted myself, didn’t I?

  9. djmatticus says:

    Nothing is annoying at 6AM??? I’m a morning person, and I don’t even see the logic in that! Everything, other than getting to enjoy the peace and quiet of a lovely sunrise, is annoying that early in the day. Then again, I could just be joking around, you know what I mean, wink wink, nudge nudge?! 😉

  10. Carrie Rubin says:

    “What’s your favorite video game? Reading a book”—Love that one!

  11. Rohan 7 Things says:

    Oh man, I’m afraid your Irish is much better than mine lol 😉 I learned a few phrases in primary school which I’ve long since forgotten sadly! Criminal I know!

    Haha, I did not see camel toe coming! But come to think of it I’d say it’s probably my favorite toe as well 🙂

    Hugs Mrs Robinson haha!

    Rohan.

    ps. Yes I do like the word moist, it’s a most excellent adjective.

    • You are one of the FEW that like the word “moist” – for some reason people abhor it – but like the word ‘button’ – I just don’t get it.

      Really? Camel came almost immediately – and you’re the one writing the sex book….

      My “Irish” is all about the copy-paste… Ich weiss nicht Gaelic.

      • Rohan 7 Things says:

        Moist rocks! It all depends on the connotations one makes I suppose.

        Somehow I managed to write a 90,000 word book on sex without a single mention of camel toe! That’s it, I’m starting again…*throws manuscript into bin”

        Well actually there’s definitely references to that part of the female anatomy, I guess I just didn’t use that particular colloquialism. *pulls manuscript out of bin*

        Yeah I thought so 😉 Still, you’ve officially copied and pasted more Irish than I have in the past 8 years of living here!

        Rohan.

      • I like moist too. It makes me think of cupcakes.
        Gee thanks, now I want a cupcake.

  12. twindaddy says:

    Yay! You’re a fruitcake, too!!

  13. Yay! I got picked to play tag! It’s like getting picked first for dodge ball. But first, I need to look up funicular…

  14. mairedubhtx says:

    I love that you answered in Gaelic! Go Irish! Tá tú craiceáilte!

  15. Hey, Rohan – here’s to you from Mrs. Robinson, wink. And yay, tag!

Divulge your thoughts...

