The Dichotomy of a Hot Tub

I love the word “dichotomy”  it is defined thusly:

Noun
  1. A division or contrast between two things that are or are represented as being opposed or entirely different.

Last night I was soaking in our friends’ hot tub (yes, that is the correct usage of the possessive form of friends – because there are two of them – I never lie about possessives) and it occurred to me that hot tubs are kind of a dichotomy.

From teen-aged to some undetermined age, they represent youth, fun, parties, sensuality, drunken escapades, STDs (possibly a yeast infection or two if it’s a public hot tub). You know – those kinds of Hot Tub things.

Some sort of Party going on - possibly a yeast infection and most likely an STD Photo Credit: www.stanford.edu

Some sort of Party going on – possibly a yeast infection and most likely an STD (and NOT my scene at ALL – EVER) 
Photo Credit: http://www.stanford.edu

Then as the years pass, you realize you’ve morphed into the other group of hot tub users – the ones that are using it because the body parts are no longer as ‘fresh’ and ‘pain free’ as they once were. You’re using it for therapy

Yup - no longer a party and an STD... it's time for relief of the decrepitude of the body. Photo Credit: www.olympichottub.com

Yup – no longer a party and an STD… it’s time for relief of the decrepitude of the body.
Photo Credit: http://www.olympichottub.com

So last night as I sat in my friends’ awesome hot tub with the cover only pulled back half way and no groovy colored lights going, I realized that I now crossed over from party tub to therapy tub.  And boy, did it make the decrepitude and my hamstring injury feel better.

So there you have it – from young and yeasty to old and ouchy.  I’ve crossed over – my magic number is 43.

A thank you to my friend, ‘Mike’ – who sat with me eating salad whilst I soaked and talked about this very topic…and my friends ‘Aleck’ & ‘Vivian’, who let me use their HOT TUB.  I’ve not changed their names to protect their identities, but I did use single quotes around their names so you would think that I did. I’m sly that way ~  

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor, Injury, Philosophy, Random Thoughts, Story, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to The Dichotomy of a Hot Tub

  1. Christiane says:

    of course like your website however you need to test the spelling
    on several of your posts. A number of them are rife with
    spelling problems and I to find it very bothersome to tell the truth however I will surely come back again.

  2. Pingback: The Bear in the Parking Lot! | rohan7things

  3. Maggie O'C says:

    I think it is big of you to protect your ‘friends’ the way you ‘do’.

    I’m too menopausal to happily go in a hot tub. I sweat enough thank you.

  4. Rohan 7 Things says:

    So THIS is what you were doing instead of reading my post about obsessive internet usage! You lucky duck 🙂

    I can think of few places that would be worse for me than that first picture of the overcrowded hot tub. *shudders*, if that’s young and yeasty I’ll take old and ouchie!

    Hope your bits are feeling better 🙂

    Rohan.

  5. The Waiting says:

    My brother got a staph infection from a hot tub once. Good times.

  6. Daile says:

    Was Mike eating salad in the hot tub? I feel like I need this clarified

  7. Carrie Rubin says:

    Needless to say, I was never in that top group of hot tub users. Way, way too close for comfort for me!

  8. You used two of my favourite words in this post: ‘dichotomy’ and ‘decrepitude’. For that, I applaud you. I will also console you by admitting that I have recently been having a lot of hot steamy baths. Not to sensually tease those bubbles round my naked limbs, or to share an intimate glass of champagne with a hot stud muffin, but to ease my bad back. I am but 28 years old.
    Decrepitude, you have beckoned me too soon. Too soon.

  9. Welcome to the Decrepitude Society, Ladycakes. We’ve been waiting for you.

  10. El Guapo says:

    I think even more telling than therapy hot tubbing is that your friend was eating a salad.
    No doubt while regaling you with its helpful benefits.

    (I bet David Bowie doesn’t appreciate hot tubs.)
    (Saw you commented on mine while I was reading yours.)

    • Hee hee – no, Mike is not a health enthusiast – he was helping the salad along with some beer and mescal, most likely. I brought him the salad to bribe him to stay whilst I soaked. I’m sly that way.

      I bet I don’t appreciate hot tubs for STDs… You leave David Bowie out of this – I’m gonna have to think long and hard about your hatred of him and decide if I can still write lyrical poetry about your servers.

  11. erickeys says:

    I too have hit the age where the idea of pain relief appeals to me more than that sort of party.

  12. sarabressler says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever thought in so much depth in regards to hot tubbing.

  13. rossmurray1 says:

    I’ve generally found hot tubs to be more enjoyable in concept than in practice. You’re top picture reinforces that belief. Nice yellow nipple-blocker…

Divulge your thoughts...

