Becky says things about … the epic fail of an eating disorder

I think this is worth a read ~ Becky is talented, funny and SPOT-ON about eating disorders.

BECKY SAYS THINGS

I greet you, dearest Listener, a perturbed Becky. Something happened yesterday that has made me want to say some very important things.

Whilst in a shop, I overhead the following conversation between two young teenage girls. I’m appalling at judging people’s ages – I thought Mick Jagger was 348, turns out he’s only 70 – but I’m guessing these two girls couldn’t have been more than 14.

Girl 1:  I really need to lose weight.

Girl 2: Do what I’m doing.

Girl 1: Yeah, you’ve lost loads of weight.

Girl 2: Yeah, over a stone! Seriously, just spit everything into a tissue, you never actually swallow anything! I’ve been doing it for ages.

Girl 1: I might start doing that.

Girl 2: Do it, we’ll be well skinny.

Girl 1: (Smiling) Yeah.

eating1

Listener, this conversation left me colder than a polar bear who’s fallen into a frozen lake, climbed out…

View original post 1,203 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Becky says things about … the epic fail of an eating disorder

  1. The Hook says:

    A fascinating share. Thanks.

  2. Robin says:

    thanks for reblogging this…really interesting….

    • You’re welcome – I love this woman’s work.

      • Robin says:

        I know really! I just clicked to follow her. I left a note for her on the post but I’m always wondering if I have crossed a line somewhere with my need to stay fit and thin, wondering how much is too much. I can see how tough it is for teens and adults! Thankfully my love of food keeps me from ever having that issue;I still totally get where she’s going when she says it doesn’t matter how thin you are, you are never satisfied. As often as people tell you “it’s what’s on the inside that counts” it’s tough not to be hard on ourselves.

        • It’s hard to know just where the line is – I guess if all one thinks about is their ‘thinness’ and they do all sorts of controlling behaviors that take precedence over their lives – that would be the line. I love exercising because it makes me mentally feel better and physically – I know I have issues with food but the exercising is a positive in my life – but it doesn’t rule my life. I knew a woman that would eat a huge amount of food at one sitting (she was tiny) then immediately would exercise for HOURS afterwards. To me that seemed obsessive and directly related to what she ate not just keeping fit.

  3. Kim says:

    Spitting out food into a napkin? Ugh. I sincerely hope those girls do NOT go down that road. Great blog. Thanks for sharing it.

Divulge your thoughts...

