Next Week’s Special

Greetings People ~

Well, I’ve been away for a while – nursing my husband’s new hip and not killing anyone. I’ve come close, I won’t lie, but have manged reigned in my rage angst.  This experience, whilst bringing my husband and I closer, has reinforced the notion that I am not cut out to be a nurse…ever. I have even MORE respect for these professionals, now that I’ve been at the beck & call of a patient…and I’ve not even had to do any of the HARD stuff they do!  But that’s not why I’m writing today.

I’m writing to start the hubbub (hee hee) for next week’s special. Alas, it does not come on a blue plate – but it’s deeply discounted; well, free, in fact.   Next week I’m doing a series on Progressive Education.  It will have hoopla, words, writers, points of view, sage insight – you know, all that stuff that makes for good reading.

I hope you all will join us for some lively, but respectful, discussion as we embark upon the subject of “EDUCATION”.

See you there – and bring a friend or two.

– Rutabaga

 

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Education, Family, Guest Blogger, Health, Nursing, Parenting, Philosophy, Teachers, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Next Week’s Special

  1. Rohan 7 Things says:

    Yay, this is a subject I find very interesting and I look forward to your take on it! I’m pretty sure it’s close enough to where I’m at.

    Taking care of someone can feel really warm and fuzzy for the first while, but yeah, it gets tough after a while!! Hope you’re both keeping it together and healing up 🙂

    Rohan.

  2. stephrogers says:

    Glad your hubby is doing well. Having seen a video link or two that you’ve sent me I can bet this week will be very insightful. I’ll be there!

  3. Cathy Ulrich says:

    Glad your hubby is doing so well, Denise. As a physical therapist, I have rehabed many a hip replacement. It sounds like he is recovering nicely! I look forward to your education posts, but you mean you’re not doing a post on Halloween!?

  4. dentaleggs says:

    I give you so much credit for caring for your newly-hipped husband. Also, I have many nasty things to say about Mayor Rham of Chicago and his charter school, demon tactics. Most of what I have to say involve curse words so you probably don’t want me saying anything.

  5. jlheuer says:

    Going to get us some learnin’ next week, huh. I’m curious.

  6. Jennie Saia says:

    I am SO not made to be a care-giver. There about 5 people I’d really, truly commit to doing it for if needed, but otherwise I’m so with you… I don’t want to be *that* needed, and have to be sweet about all the demands!

  7. Glad to hear he’s on the mend! The walking is definitely the secret. I somehow managed to escape the TED hose– different surgeons use different followup procedures I suppose–or it may depend on the paritcular patient.

    I’m back at work and settling back into “real life” . Surprised at how “better than normal” I feel after three months. I actually RAN to catch a bus last week!.

  8. Carrie Rubin says:

    Hope your hubby’s healing well, Nurse Nightengale!

  9. It’s difficult to have a 24/7 patient even if it’s your husband. I’m glad you survived and in one piece. I look forward to the topic of education, a topic near and dear to me.

  10. Kylie says:

    I consider every school-day morning/night I *don’t* kill someone a victory for education.

Divulge your thoughts...

