Mawhahaha

Boo!   Not really a post – just a HAPPY HALLOWEEN! This, my most favorite holiday.

October makes me long for my hometown in Shoreham, NY on Long Island. Autumn leaves, pumpkin patches, haunted houses, the school parade and some trick or treating.  This was the most magical season for me when I was young.  It’s good to have those memories.

I was thinking last night, that from about age 12-14, every Halloween costume I wore was just an excuse to see how much make-up I could slather on my face.   Garish Geisha Girl was my masterpiece. I had a blue eye shadow that would have made Tammy Faye Baker envious…

What were some of your favorite (or favourite) costumes??

Everyone have a Fantastic day ~

Illustrator: Edward Gorey

Illustrator: Edward Gorey

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Childhood, ghosts, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Mawhahaha

  1. I Love Halloween – but had/have no finesse or imagination or craftiness for costumes… so usually end up wearing some sort of traditional garb I got from another country (aka – wore my Indian Sari for years!)

  2. Rohan 7 Things says:

    I love Halloween too. Ever since I was a kid I’ve loved all things scary and mysterious. I dressed as a mummy, a zombie and a vampire as a kid and went trick or treating. These days I just get a few beers, some yummy food and watch scary movies with my close friends and family 🙂

    Love that spooky Halloween feeling!! Hope you had a nice one!

    Rohan.

    • It was excellent – took my son, dressed in a DEVO costume!!, trick or treating with friends – and we laughed and laughed and laughed…an evening well spent.

      I was a zombie belly dancer and a zombie hockey player a few times….and a cat most of all… when not being a slutty whatever when I was younger.

  3. Oh, Happy Halloween!!! Almost time for trick-or-treating. Oh, I think I was a divine gypsy. That was my fav!

  4. jlheuer says:

    My most favorite too. I still carve pumpkins since I still have the heart of a child. Mosey over to my blog to see this year’s group of punks.

  5. stephrogers says:

    We don’t really do Halloween in Australia. It is starting to catch on in some towns but really, without the history behind it like you guys have, it just seems like a shameful lolly grab *sigh

  6. Kylie says:

    Halloween is my favorite too! Love any excuse to dress up in a costume. Have fun!!

  7. Carrie Rubin says:

    Halloween was always my favorite season, too. I’ve kind of lost the spirit the last couple years, probably because my kids are older and we get no trick-or-treaters since we live on a busy street with no sidewalk. Maybe I’ll have to watch a scary movie to rekindle it!

  8. The Waiting says:

    Happy Halloween! Edward Gorey is my favorite ever so I loved seeing that image in me reader ;D

  9. RFL says:

    Happy Halloween!

  10. Hey there, I’ve seen your face about the place a lot on blogs I follow, and people seem to like you, so I thought I’d follow you myself! You hit a chord there with what you said about dressing up when you were 12-14. My daughter is 14 and she’s making her own halloween costume today, and she’s flited between creating a kind of catwoman type thing, or being a horror schoolgirl – both of those are potentially sexier than I want her to look going out in the dark, but I can’t work out if she knows they might be sexy outfits or not! (She probably does, right? I’d better follow along behind her in disguise to keep an eye…)

  11. Happy Halloween, Ladycakes!! I love Edward Gorey. I have a framed poster of the Gashlycrumb Tinies in my living room.

  12. Cathy Ulrich says:

    Edward Gorey! Perfect! Tim Burton! Perfect! Hope you have a ghastly Halloween, Denise (in a good way!)

  13. rossmurray1 says:

    You boo… I mean “too.”

Divulge your thoughts...

