Sunday Sauce – Even on a Saturday

Friends – my muse has dried up a bit lately – so I’m doing a reblog-a-thog! I’ll be back soon… I feel the mush starting to break up in my brain! I miss you all and sorry for not visiting too many blogs – and welcome to all my new subscribers ~

Rutabaga

The Mercenary Researcher

This post is dedicated to my Nanny – she passed away 2 years ago this November, I wish she was around to eat some pasta with me. I love you Nannutza! 

Oh how I love making sauce. Every weekend in my house, when I was growing up, Sunday was the day Mom made sauce. My Nanny’s (grandmother) house was the same – every weekend sauce was made.  A Sunday dinner of pasta & sauce, chicken parmesan, garlic bread and salad was a must.  If we didn’t eat it at my house, we ate it at Nanny and Poppy’s house.  Friday was also a big pasta day – but we ate it with fish instead of chicken because Nanny was ‘old school’ Catholic and didn’t eat meat on Fridays.

Even after we moved from New York, Mom still made sauce most every weekend. As I got older, I too, wanted to…

View original post 1,002 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

Divulge your thoughts...

