Giving the Gift of Sound and Vision (and Movement)

I have a really, really, really amazing husband.   Really, he’s amazing.  One of his most amazing traits is gift giving.  He’s freakin’ fantastic at it.  I think it’s because he’s an observer. There’s not a lot of talking when he’s involved and I never can get the ‘low down’ on anything from him because he does not engage in nor is interested in gossip…but this man knows what to get most anyone.  I’m not talking expense…I’m talking fit.  Here’s an example.

One year we did not have a lot money around the holidays (which is pretty much every year – hee hee) – so we agreed on a dollar amount limit (some years, we decide on a theme – like only food or must fit in a stocking etc).  So on Christmas Eve, he’s sequestered himself in the music/computer/art room (AKA “the Middle Room”) and has been in there for what seems like HOURS.   Our son is at his grandparent’s house awaiting our arrival for the Christmas Eve festivities and I’m frantically getting all the wrapping done before we go so that we’re not up until Midnight doing the ‘Santa’ thing.  I hear a lot of cursing coming from the Middle Room and my curiosity is peaked.  But I must wait for the ritual.  For over 20 years we’ve celebrated Christmas the same way. His family celebrates Christmas Eve and my family is more about Christmas Day – so our compromise was to open our gifts to each other around midnight so we could celebrate both Christmas Eve and Day (now that we’re older – we’ve dubbed 10PM Christmas Eve as ‘good enough because it’s Midnight someplace’).  We always do this just me and him and save family presents with our son on the Eve and the Day. ANYWAY I could BARELY get through the evening because I was so curious about whatever he was doing in that Middle Room for TWO hours.

Finally, we settle down and begin our exchange – each person must take turns opening one gift at a time.  And we love to wrap EVERYTHING – because it makes it more fun.  That particular year I had become a MAD Dexter and League of Gentleman fan.  So what did my fabulous spouse have for me? Yes, you’re absolutely right – he made me SNOW GLOBES! One was Dexter and one was from The League of Gentlemen.  Not only did they have great pictures that he painstakingly put in, but it also had a recording feature.  Dexter’s said “I don’t have a badge, I have a laminate” and “I really need to kill someone” … so why was he in the Middle Room swearing on Christmas Eve? Well, when he was wrapping his fabulous gifts, he accidentally ERASED the messages and had to do the whole thing again.  That is love and dedication RIGHT THERE!

I don't have a badge, I have a lament

I don’t have a badge, I have a laminate

This past Christmas was no exception.  He came through with my fabulous Garmin but outdid himself on Christmas morning.  He surprised me and our son with a tandem bike. Even though my husband does not like riding bikes and worries endlessly about my biking safety, he has always supported my commuter biking lifestyle. He knows how bummed out I was when our son was unable to learn how to easily ride a bike due to some balance issues. My fantasy of long bike rides together to the Farmer’s Market, to the store, on the Riverwalk and other places around town were crushed.

At first I was skeptical that our son would even want to ride or even if he could ride – but that was a worry wasted! The day our friend came over to help put the bike together my son was absolutely NOT INTERESTED IN BIKING.  So I didn’t push it…about 2 hours later, he was ‘curious’ if his helmet still fit…so we tried it on…still fit! About 20 seconds after that he asked if we could take a spin around the block.  And we loved it!  My kid has even mentioned learning to ride his OWN bike!!!   See what kind of awesome husband I have?  I would not have thought to get a tandem bike – and now we have one. And it’s been amazing.  Exercise, outdoors, being together, improving balance – all good things in my book.  I am a lucky woman.  And yes, I’m biking in shorts in JANUARY.

I loves me a linear park

I loves me a linear park  – Photo Credit Ted Schredd 

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Biking, Children, Family, Health, Humor, love, Parenting, Random Thoughts, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Giving the Gift of Sound and Vision (and Movement)

  1. crafteelooks says:

    thanks for the update

    http://hauntedpages.wordpress.com Date: Fri, 17 Jan 2014 14:25:36 +0000 To: crafteelooks@hotmail.com

  2. calahan says:

    That’s such a cool gift idea. I totally want to steal it! Was the snow in the Dexter globe blood red, by any chance?

  3. stephrogers says:

    That it beautiful! January is summer here so I thought you looked over dressed! Is it hard to ride a tandem bike? I’ve never tried one before. Do your legs have to be in sych? I have loved seeing your biking adventures. I used to ride a road bike all the time before I got pregnant with my youngest. Now it is sitting in the shed because I don’t have childcare and always have the kids with me. I will get back on it someday. It is such a free feeling.

  4. rossmurray1 says:

    I’m going to go ahead that that is your son’s attempt to give you rabbit ears in that photo, in which case, “Well done, kiddo!”

  5. I love to witness great gift giving, when it is so obvious the giver was observant enough and caring enough to put forth such effort for the recipient. You’ve got yourself a keeper there! 🙂

  6. unfetteredbs says:

    You’ve got yourself a good man Ruta. The love shines through in your words. I’m slightly jealous of you wearing shorts in January!

  7. The Hook says:

    Ain’t love – true love – grand?
    Good for you two!

  8. The Waiting says:

    Love this! Homemade gifts are the best. For my birthday my husband made me a bunch of prints of images he’s been working on for awhile, and seriously, I would much rather have that than some appliance I may never use or makeup I’ll have no chance to wear. I’m kind of in love with the Dexter snow globe.

  9. That IS thoughtful! I think people who give good gifts are really people who care enough to pay attention to what you say, what you do, and the things you’re interested in. I think your husband may just have a teensy bit of a crush on you.

    Love that picture of you on the tandem bike. I have a semi-fear of them so I’ll never get on one, but I appreciate that you’ve mastered the art.

  10. A lovely tribute. You are truly blessed.

  11. Twindaddy says:

    Lucky you! I’d probably just get you a gift card or something because I KNOW you love to shop. That’s how I rationalize it.

  12. Fantastic! I love it when people take time to observe and give considered gifts. Like you say, it’s not about the amount of money spent, it’s about the thought that’s gone in to it. Several years back a few months after I started work in a new place, at Christmas our deparment (of which there were about 25 of us, but not all working in the same building) did a secret santa. We had a budget limit that was quite small and I was told that the idea was that if we didn’t know the person well, we were supposed to covertly find out things about them to get them something relevant to one of their interests or something like that. I didn’t really know the person whose name I drew out, but after a bit of investigating I learned that he loved computing and he loved jokes, so I combined those and bought a book called something like “The 100 best computer jokes”. I was pleased with myself and was excitedly waiting to find out what the buyer of my gift had managed to find out about me and bought me, and then when we opened them, I’d been given a box of chocolates, and a very ordinary box at that. I do like chocolate and I know it sounds ungrateful, but I was really disappointed because it just felt like a no-thought gift you know? We all opened them in front of each other at a department lunch so I had to put on a delighted face because I didn’t know who had bought it and whether they were looking at me! I’m sounding really ungrateful aren’t I! Haha.

  13. Carrie Rubin says:

    He IS an awesome gift giver. The tandem bike is a great idea. What a fun way for you to spend time with your son. So nice.

    I loved this: “good enough because it’s Midnight someplace.” 🙂

  14. El Guapo says:

    Your husband rocks!
    I love when I manage to find the perfect gift for someone.
    Though I suck at sitting on it til whatever event the gift is for. I prefer to just give it once I have it.

  15. Karen says:

    What a fabulous gift and so perfectly you! Gift giving can be tricky, especially if you’ve known someone a long time because you’ve given so many gifts over the years. I love his thoughtfulness. Have fun biking-babe!

Divulge your thoughts...

