Half a Mile Outside of Bloody Basin

Its’ a Re-Blog-A-Thog day! Enjoy if you haven’t already ~

The Mercenary Researcher

“The car broke down about half a mile outside of Bloody Basin”

Yes, there really IS a Bloody Basin.Photo Credit: www.aaroads.co Yes, there really IS a Bloody Basin.
Photo Credit: http://www.aaroads.co

These are the words I spoke to the tow-truck company over the phone in February 1989 from Cordes Junction, AZ, located right off I-17 – a million miles from civilization.  I must have blanched white when the guy quoted me the price of retrieving my little Toyota Corolla and towing it to Phoenix.  Dan, the mechanic who picked me and my then brand new boyfriend, Scott, up from off the side of the road to bring us to a phone, told me to hang up and we’d find a better option.  He called his friend and got a tow bar – then spent the next hour towing my car, using his own van, to Cordes Junction; he didn’t talk of money. He just smiled and said ‘don’t worry, we’ll work…

View original post 1,348 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Half a Mile Outside of Bloody Basin

  1. I’m never sure where to leave comments on reblogs. Here or at the original post? God. Another conflict. Just what I needed today.

    Random thoughts.

    You’ve got a lot of nerve calling it a ‘trusty’ Toyota. Or is that, like, a witty sarcasm? Your dad should learn to meditate. It’s an instruction manual for letting go. I did a blog post about Choco Taco once. They’re hauntingly addictive. Like heroin except you gain weight instead of lose it. You met one-eyed Ramón! That dude owes me $7 bucks.

Divulge your thoughts...

