Time to Label the Crazy

And why not…

The Mercenary Researcher

Let’s not beat around the bush any longer.  I’m a little weird…as we all are. I have a few phobias.  Everyone has phobias – germs, bugs, flying, public speaking – but these are not mine…these are just a drop in the sea of possibilities.  We have many things for which we can fear – qualms that induce sweaty palms; worries that turn our bowels to water, dread which engulfs us – causing great huge shrieks that start at the base of our spins and build towards a crescendo erupting from our mouths – exploding in our brains. These are the things which have power.

(Pretty good opening paragraph, eh?)

These are some of the things which make me uneasy; a little squeamish even.

  • Coulrophobia – a fear of clowns
  • Ligyrophobia – a fear of balloons popping
  •  Ophidiophobia – a fear of snakes

Not so odd.  Clown hatred is pretty common…

View original post 668 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Time to Label the Crazy

  1. So if buttons are a no-no, what about press-studs? Or is everything you own either stretchy or zip-operated?

    Please forgive my nosiness, I’m curious about how it works.

    Also, what about the fact that in the USA, pin badges (or badges, as we call them in the UK) are also called buttons?

    • Totally ask – I’d not posted if I was not down with curiosity.

      I don’t like press-studs either – nothing I own has closures that are button-like. String ties for tops (if needed) and zippers on pants – but i mostly wear tee-shirts and gauzy cotton skirts or yoga pants or shorts.

      So yes – stretch or ziper-operated.

      Yeah, not so crazy about pin badges – but they don’t cause my brain to wack out if I have to wear one. I would prefer it to not be round 🙂

  2. Clowns never bothered me much until I read Stephen King’s IT. Now they creep me right out.

  3. Elyse says:

    I remember reading this piece. Well worth reposting!

  4. Marie says:

    Immigration agents. My most feared words ever…

Divulge your thoughts...

