Family Traditions – Abject Humiliation

More re-blog-a-thog!

The Mercenary Researcher

My family is not huge on tradition – but there a few customs that we like to carry on–telling humiliating stories is one of them. Specifically we like to share humiliating stories about my brother…to his girlfriends (he’s married now so I don’t get to tell this story as much as I’d like).  And obviously, when I mean “my family”, I mean the family into which I was born or quite possibly spawned.

Before I begin my story, I have to explain some things.  My brother was a handful. And by ‘handful’ I mean I’m surprised no one actively throttled him during his youth.  He’s the textbook example of someone that doesn’t take “no” for an answer. I would say he’s tenacious – well, actually I would really say he’s “a pain in the f***ing ass” – but to his credit he always knew what he wanted and has achieved…

View original post 689 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Family Traditions – Abject Humiliation

  1. I agree, that was rather weird of your brother to refuse to go to the dentist by himself but then to be happy to walk to your grandparents’ house by himself. Then again, male logic is a completely different creature to female logic.

  2. The Hook says:

    Re-blog-a-thog rules!
    Abject humiliation? Not so much…

  3. This unrelenting hectoring you describe that your brother employed is how I got women to sleep with me when I was young. I thought the game was to badger them and wear down their resolve until they finally submitted themselves. Just to shut me up, you see. It wasn’t until my mid-20s or so that I realized that nagging was NOT considered to be a legitimate aspect of foreplay. Imagine my surprise!

    That was a really mean thing for your mom to do! And really funny! She’s lucky nobody called social services on her.

Divulge your thoughts...

