Double Dog Dare

Hmmm… I think I’ve accepted a ‘double dog dare’ from my friend to write more. I don’t know what that’s exactly going to look like – but it may or may not involve you being suckered into reading more stuff.  You may have to self-medicate.  You never know.

I should just publish my fascinating work notes.  They’re kind of mystical…oh wait… maybe I mean they’re kind of  ‘a mystery’. I just sort of scribble things on small pieces of paper despite my inability to write neatly or with small sized letters.  I should carry a writing tablet with me for when I go near my boss’ office – but I typically take nothing and end up having to steal his pen or pencil and proceed to scribble on a small post-it note- at times I tell him he has only two sides worth of instructions, so make it concise.  He often seems to disregard that tidbit – then I have to use multiple stickie notes and hope that I’ve got something coherent (I’ve given up on cohesive) by the time I get back to my office and start querying the data.  I’ve been known write down that kind of stuff on my hand with a Sharpie (it’s the closest thing to a Palm Pilot I’ll ever have).  That often bodes ill for for the outcome of the research so I’ve decided to just jot down dates and times. A max of 6 words. So it’s kind of like Twitter. Or not –

I only feel slightly better about my handwriting because one of my friend’s is definitely (in my opinion; ‘possibly’, in his) worse.  His was described as ‘Ransom Note’ Font.  I’m kinda jealous.  I’m fontless.  I always imagined my handwriting was sort of the equivalent of speaking-in-tongues on paper.

Speaking of a lack of cohesion – I think there’s supposed to be a subject at hand. Ah yes, writing.  I don’t know…we’ll see what comes about. There have been a couple of cool things that have gone on. I’ve learned I have a whole family in Canada and I’ve just had a meal with my favorite author, Sharon K Penman. I have been wanting to write about those things; I just don’t know where I want to go with them yet.

But anyway – this may or may not be a warning.

Thank you, Ted.

Well, duh…

 

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Humor, Random Thoughts, Sharon K Penmen, Words, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Double Dog Dare

  1. I’d describe your handwriting the same way I’d describe the way you walk: bouncy, airy, flitting. It can’t be confined to parallel lines because it’s taking you somewhere.

  2. I post old diary entries every once in a while and people seem to enjoy them although there’s no end to the embarrassment they cause me. Do you have any old journals lying around? Just a thought.

    You’re very cryptic about all this. What’s with this may-or-may-not stuff?

  3. El Guapo says:

    I carry a pass to write noted.
    Then I lose it.

    Ah well…

  4. Elyse says:

    Go for it. But don’t stick your tongue on the pole. Because the weather is frightful, at least here in NoVa where it is f’ing snowing out on March 30!

  5. I’ve done that trying to write on post-its thing. It never worked well for me either.

    May we see a sample of your handwriting?

  6. Twindaddy says:

    I’m all for more writing from you!

  7. Carrie Rubin says:

    A meal with your favorite author? Now that’s definitely worth writing about. 🙂

  8. Waiting for the story about that dinner with SKP. 🙂

Divulge your thoughts...

