Finding Ease within the Bind

Greetings People,
I’m the master of ‘the reblog’ so I’m going with it. I have a thumb injury with a stupid splint (it looks way more dramatic than it is) and it’s harder to type than normal…and I’m getting ready to resume my hot Yoga practice after a 2 week hiatus. Thus I’m a bit nervous…so this is a fitting post to resurrect.

The Mercenary Researcher

Warning: This is a rambling post ~ pretty much within my nature…

This concept often comes up in my hot yoga class – finding ease within the bind. But what does it mean? In terms of postures, it simply means being able to relax in binding move, such as Wind Removing Pose (it’s ok to giggle, and believe me no one is removing their wind during the posture that I’ve noticed).

Yes, flatulence is funny Yes, flatulence is funny

At this point in the 26 posture series, you’ve been giving it your all in standing, balancing postures for 50 minutes – you’ve just gotten to the floor and chances are you’re a hot, possibly fatigued, mess. Try holding your legs like that when you’re absolutely drenched in sweat, believe me, it ain’t easy. But this is exactly where learning to find ease within the bind comes in; learning to relax and/or make small…

View original post 970 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finding Ease within the Bind

  1. El Guapo says:

    good luck getting back to it!
    May your dog always be…downward…or something…

  2. Let’s see the splint, please. Not that we don’t believe you but…well…let’s see the splint.

    So, trying to cope with stress actually GIVES you stress? Do I have that right? I think that’s an irony, isn’t it? Or is that a conundrum?

    One man’s rut is another man’s groove. I didn’t read that in a fortune cookie. I invented it. Your’e welcome.

    Do you meditate? Because that was all very Zen. Oh, wait, you can’t respond to a question because of your THUMB. Supposedly.

    • Use your imagination – it’s very dramatic looking.

      No – more that doing things that go against my nature gives me more stress than I need, on TOP of my regular stress. 🙂

      I do moving mediation – Tai Chi, Bikram Yoga, biking etc…

      My thumb just makes it more of a stress to reply 🙂

  3. Carrie Rubin says:

    Sorry about the thumb. Hope your yoga doesn’t exacerbate it. I’m impressed you’ve kept that hot yoga going. I would’ve given up after the first class. 🙂

Divulge your thoughts...

