Whirlpool Sploosh Ball Wars Update

Greetings People,

I know it’s been a while since I posted.  There’s actually a reason, besides the obvious one, that my brain no longer works correctly.  I, too, was worried about that for a while ~  But stay tuned, all will be revealed in a couple of weeks.

However, that said – I wanted to send an update on our Sploosh Ball Wars Therapy.  All is going just ducky.  We’ve not been in the pool as often as we’d like due to some unexpected things – such as neck & thumb injuries from other over-exuberant play…but we are both mended and ready for action.   However, every time we’re in, we play a round of Sploosh Ball Wars and it still makes us laugh and keeps us chummy.  My son is definitely less tense – and I am convinced it’s due to very exuberant play, which is encouraged at his summer camp, that is making all the difference.

There’s a lot of talk at camp about the importance of ‘rough and tumble play’ which is different from being aggressive. The theory is that children are playing as they naturally would, without parents hoovering over them trying to control for any instance of ‘harm’ or aggression. They learn important lessons about building emotional intelligence, learning to distinguish between aggression and roughhousing, engaging in the joys of moving around naturally, being more physically engaged with their bodies and learning to read social cues of their playmates during a game. Personally, I would find it very frustrating if all my movements were constantly forestalled by anxious-hoovering adults and THAT might make me more aggressive than any play I was engaging with amongst friends.  Children playing in a natural way are less likely to hurt themselves than those always having to modify all their movements to conform to adult’s worries about ‘rough play’.  When we second guess ourselves, we are less confident and more likely to hurt ourselves.

At any rate, from my point-of-view, I am enjoying our summer in the pool together – I’ve dropped 12 lbs, my son is starting to develop more muscle tone and refining his eye-hand coordination. Like I stated before, he seems less likely to lose his temper outside of the pool and has developed a bit more patience.  These things might not all be related to Sploosh Ball Wars/exuberant play, but I would be willing to bet some of it is.

So my words o’wisdom would be GO OUT AND PLAY!

 

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Childhood, Children, Family, Health, Injury, Mental Health, Parenting, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Whirlpool Sploosh Ball Wars Update

  1. Twindaddy says:

    Yay! I’m glad you’re having fun! And losing weight is a great bonus!

  2. Amy Reese says:

    Yay! Whatever happened to go outside and play anyway? I hope you’re feeling ok. Now you have me worried a bit. Good to see ya here. Hope you’re having a blast splooshing!

    • I’m good – nothing to worry about 🙂

      It’s a bit too hot in Tucson to ‘go out and play’ in the summer and we don’t have any kids on our block – so it’s much harder than when I was young to do that. The neighborhoods in our area have some sketchy parts – which is pretty typical in most of central Tucson – it’s so different now – so different.

  3. Lisa says:

    I’m so glad that I grew up in such an unsafe time. Otherwise, I don’t know that I would ever move. I was a pretty aggressive kid at times and I know I would have been shut down quickly. On the flip side, I still don’t have good hand-eye coordination.

  4. Paul says:

    I agree that good play is part of the key to healthy and sound minds. I read an article in a journal once that studied the amount of “play” that prisoners in jail had had as children. It turns out that, compared to the aveage person, they had much less, if any, chance to play as children and it seriously impacted their adult personalities. Great post Rutabaga!

    • That’s really interesting – I will have to research that study. Play is so important and in the face of all the emphasis we are putting on taking away recess and free-form play, it would be important for educators making policy to be cognizant of the importance of play.

  5. rossmurray1 says:

    Roughhousing is a stupid word but a great concept. Boys in particular are essentially dogs. Watch dogs play. Good for you both on your progress. Glad to hear from you too.

Divulge your thoughts...

