Labeling the Crazy Part II

Obviously I’m lacking for content right now – so here’s a blast from the past …2012 to be exact. Enjoy my word-aversion-crazy.

The Mercenary Researcher

Aversion:  a feeling of repugnance toward something with a desire to avoid or turn from it

I’m convinced that once you’ve divulged to the world – or at least the 50 people that read my last post -that you have a phobia to buttons, it’s not too much of a leap to talk about another aversion. Possibly even more obscure.

Word Aversion – yes, word aversion.  Well, it’s more like a combination of letters together that make me cringe.  Such words are rarely used in my lexicon.  Most people that know me, know I abhor certain kinds of words. Like koumpounophobia, it’s very amusing and makes for fun times around the table.

I hate words that have double ‘OO’s – especially with an “L” near it…or with an “L” and a “Y” ending.  ‘Smelly’,’ Belly’, ‘Jelly’… I feel unsettled even TYPING THEM.  Any Residents fans out there will…

View original post 378 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Labeling the Crazy Part II

  1. Zann Carter says:

    Lisa’s mother-in-law here. For some reason, I wound up on your page where I commented about the Huck Seed connection, then I thought to check out a more recent blog post of yours and came here. To be directed to an older post or two.
    I thought it was funny that you vented about people using the word google as a verb. Which is exactly what I did in my old comment!
    I have an aversion to metal paper clips. I take great pleasure in throwing them away if I encounter them. Actually, I hate them. They make me feel angry. (crazy?)
    The thing I really wanted to mention was that it occurred to me that some of your word aversions might be a kind of synaesthesia. I have some synaesthesia of the common kind – colors attached to letters, numbers, days of the week, etc. So I’m wondering if this might be a possibility in your case, that those particular combinations of letters evoke some other sensory element….
    just a thought.

Divulge your thoughts...

