Brave

I want to share this on behalf of my dear friend. But also because I briefly knew Punky when I was just 15 years old, and saw with my own eyes how someone’s life can spiral out of control yet they still try to hold-on. Living with mental illness in a time when resources were more scarce and stigma was strong. She grew up too soon and left this earth too soon, and at times for her, it was not soon enough. I hope she finally finds some peace. She showed love in the best way she knew how and that is how she should be remembered.

Much love to you all
Rutabaga

Mended Musings

dolores My sister, the year I was born.

I felt too tethered to the earth last week. I walked through each day with a sense that something was coming, or maybe more like something was happening but I didn’t know what. It was like that time I had a dream about the woman who adopted my cat. I only met her once but we became Facebook friends so that we could see pictures of Moo-Moo. I had a dream that her friends were stuck in a basement with a raging fire above them and they were screaming her name. The next morning, I saw on Facebook that she lost 5 of her friends in a fire.

View original post 817 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Brave

  1. Paul says:

    Amazing post Rutabaga. Karen is an awesome writer and her sister Punky seemed so full of life. I followed Karen and am looking forward to future posts. ( I left a comment over on her blog as well) Thank you very much for introducing Karen on your blog.

    As an aside, I did a guest post over at Cordelia’s Mom yesterday http://cordeliasmomstill.com/2014/09/04/red-stars-guest-post-by-paul-curran/comment-page-1/#comment-3469 I would be honored if you could find the time to drop by and have a read. Thank You very much.

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this and for your beautiful intro. I love you!

  3. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Wow, thank you for sharing her story…

Divulge your thoughts...

