A Little Factoid ~

And more reblog…

To end the story – my son did OK with soccer – he loved practice but was not too thrilled with the actual games. He was more interested in engaging the refs in some conversation and/or standing around ignoring the game. Why run for a ball you are going to miss anyway? That’s my son… he’s definitely his mother’s kid. But he never wanted to quit. And spending 3 days a week driving 15 miles each way to & from practice/games, I desperately WISHED he wanted to quit. I wanted to quit, but for some reason, that’s not allowed.

The Mercenary Researcher

That could be me ~
Cartoon by Charles Schultz

Remember the worst kid on the Royal Blue softball team? The kid that was kind of chunky? Awkward with a bat? Was a little wheezy when running around the field during practice? Yes, I was that kid.  It was an ungainly time in my life. Fifth grade softball – it scarred me for life.

I had a long history of quitting. I quit flute, baton, swim team, figure staking, and gymnastics (which I was actually good at – but then developed a Dolly-Partonesque physique and that was that).   So in 5th grade, I decided to join the North West Side softball league.  I place the blame squarely on my friend Dawn. She was tall, slender and athletic. I was short, stocky and apathetic.  She suggested we join; and like a sheep to the slaughter; I followed.  I didn’t even get…

View original post 1,055 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Little Factoid ~

  1. BigLizzy says:

    All hail the quitters! I quit lots of shit, too, Ruta. But, the best stuff made it through the cut and is now a part of my life: laughing, reading, writing, loving, riding my Harley, thinking, pondering, analyzing, feeling. It’s all about the journey, not the outcome, baby. Loved this post. It’s been too long since I came and visited you and for that, I am sorry, my friend. Much love! ❤

  2. List of X says:

    I play soccer (not too well), and my approach to the game is to get in the way of other players and prevent them from playing as much as I can – or how they also call it, “playing defense”. Maybe your son could try that approach. 🙂

Divulge your thoughts...

