Gingerbreading of the Season

As the holiday season kicks off – I’m starting to get excited about baking. I’ve noticed that I’m ‘gingerbreading’ everything lately -Heather over at Sugardishme posted an amazing recipe for Gingerbread Pancakes – and they’re freakin’ fabulous. I’ve also adapted it for my Oatmeal Waffle recipe and I’ve got a fabbo gingerbread cinnamon roll recipe that I developed a couple years ago and have since shared with Heather. I love sharing recipes – and I’m gonna tell ya all about it in this reblogged post from July 2012 – when I just started blogging. Enjoy ~

The Mercenary Researcher

I love to feed people – it’s because I’m Italian and food is a big part of my family’s heritage.  I may be indifferent to your physical discomforts if I’m otherwise engaged mentally; however, if you mention feeling a bit ravenous or famished; I’ll immediately stop what I’m doing and get myself to a kitchen.   The act of cooking sooths me both physically and mentally; the joy of feeding you and seeing you take delight in food I’ve created gives me pleasure beyond description. Am I altruistic or a narcissist?  Who knows; a bit of both, I suspect.  But I really, really, really like cooking.

However, it’s baking that I truly love. Anyone that knows me will tell you that during the Christmas season, I’m a bit insane. I start making cookie lists around Thanksgiving and by the 2nd week of December it’s a full-on category 5 hurricane of…

View original post 691 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gingerbreading of the Season

  1. I am so excited to make gingerbread pancakes! (And if you posted your gingerbread cinnamon roll recipe, I’d be ALL over that!)

    • No problem – here it is:
      So for cinnamon rolls- use your regular cinnamon roll recipe, but instead of sugar, use molasses and you have to use Hodgeson Mill Whole Grain yeast – else it won’t rise properly. And in the sweet dough mix a couple of teaspoons of powdered ginger, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and a little nutmeg – I also like to put in orange rind. The cinnamon butter ‘filling’ is made with butter, cinnamon and brown sugar (and nuts if you prefer). Prepare it just like any cinnamon roll recipe and then after you bake them, I like to make a frosting with powdered sugar and orange juice (or milk if no one is thrilled with ginger/orange).

      They are delicious! The yeast is important b/c all other yeasts leave you with hockey puck cinnamon rolls.

  2. Thanks so much for mentioning me!!! I’m gonna make time for those cinnamon rolls… I am soooo excited.

  3. Holy Mary, mother of pearl—you baked all those??? Will you marry me? Or least share your gingerbread cinnamon roll recipe?

    • Ha ha – yup, I did. I love baking. I will share all my recipes with you….
      So for cinnamon rolls- use your regular cinnamon roll recipe, but instead of sugar, use molasses and you have to use Hodgeson Mill Whole Grain yeast – else it won’t rise properly. And in the sweet dough mix a couple of teaspoons of powdered ginger, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and a little nutmeg – I also like to put in orange rind. The cinnamon butter ‘filling’ is made with butter, cinnamon and brown sugar (and nuts if you prefer). Prepare it just like any cinnamon roll recipe and then after you bake them, I like to make a frosting with powdered sugar and orange juice (or milk if no one is thrilled with ginger/orange).

      They are delicious! The yeast is important b/c all other yeasts leave you with hockey puck cinnamon rolls.

      I’d be happy to marry you – however, I’m a horrible cleaner….

Divulge your thoughts...

