The Most Awesome Thing My Mom Did for Me

When I was growing up I read quite a bit. I could spend literally 8 hours straight reading. Not to say I didn’t do other things- but when I was interested in a book – it engulfed me.

My favorite thing about a book was that it I would be immersed in that world. The longer the story the better. I would become slightly depressed when the book ended (ok-sometimes I mooned around for days). I was that kind of reader.

Anyway – my favorite thing to do in the winter or right before it rained in cold weather was be outside reading. It might seem counter-intuitive to be outside in the rain reading but that’s where mom came in.

My favorite way to spend an afternoon was all wrapped up in a chaise lounge in my own cocoon world. I would get a poncho (it was a Sear’s poncho not a real poncho, for any Zappa fans reading this), a lantern, a tarp, a chaise lounge and my book. I would wrap up in the poncho and my mom would patiently wrap me up in the tarp. I could spend hours in my own little world with my book (most likely a Nancy Drew when I was around 12) and a lantern. Every once in a while my Mom would come out and check on me.

These were some of my favorite afternoons.

Thank you Mom –

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Childhood, Family, Random Thoughts, Reading, Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to The Most Awesome Thing My Mom Did for Me

  1. “Because of books, my children grew up to be bright and inquisitive, while a lot of their peers grew up to be clowns. Social scientists will tell you that surrounding your children with books will have no quantifiable effect on the molding of their personalities. Nature trumps nurture at every turn, they maintain. But, as is so often the case with social scientists, they are wrong.”

    Joe Queenan
    One For The Books

  2. Lovely story. As a mum I sometimes think of which childhood moments my kids will remember, which I made possible for them. Difficult to guess, isn’t it? But it makes you try harder to be a “create good vibes and times” kind of mum, just for posterity if not for love!

  3. Carrie Rubin says:

    You and me both. I would read for hours. Nancy Drew along with Trixie Belden. I never did it outside in the cold though. Then again, I grew up in North Dakota…

  4. I was a big Nancy Drew fan too!!

  5. Paul says:

    Ha! Love it! At that age I was into Hardy Boys and Tom Swift.I collected the whole of both series. i loved reading (still do). i would read anywhere. To be honest even up to a few years ago I used to sit in my car outside and read even in winter (my body heat would warm up the car enough that it was comfortable).

    • I love reading everywhere, still! Going to court or the DMV is just a day of reading to me. I still have my collection of Nancy Drew books – one is a very early edition, which I love.

      • Paul says:

        I built floor to ceiling bookshelves on three walls of my room and filled them with books. When I moved out I sort of forgot about them until I got a “Thank You for Your Donation” from the local library. Ha! My Mom had donated them all – there were over a thousand. books Which was fine with me, it was great that other kids could enjoy them too. I used the library a lot as well. I think, at the time, they only allowed 10 children’s books to be out on one card at a time. Which was annoying because I would have them read ih a few days and would have to go back and exchange them. Ha!

  6. Brooke says:

    What a sweet mom!

  7. Reblogged this on The Mercenary Researcher and commented:

    My kid, age 12, is starting to like Nancy Drew graphic novels – which is so excellent as I loved Nancy Drew when I was his age. So I thought I’d reblog a favorite story in honor of reading.

  8. Maryann Graziano says:

    There is nothing like getting lost in a book. And I have dozens of burned meals to prove it!

  9. This is lovely! Your mom sounds fantastic.

  10. becca3416 says:

    What a nostalgic feeling I just got!

  11. I can picture your mom doing that for you. So sweet. Reading is the best escape! Even more so than music for me.

  12. Yeah, your mom is great. Great! And I read a lot too, but usually in my room. Not all cool outside in the rain.

  13. Brigitte says:

    Moms are wonderful like that. Nothing better than curling up with a good book. My Mom helped me read books from when I was a tiny thing. And I’m always reading — always. You Mom sounds like a great Mom. :).

  14. Yay Mom! What a sweet memory. It reminds me of the days I spent happily as well, curled up on the couch with my Nancy Drews, while my mom was in the kitchen cooking. Good times.

  15. unfetteredbs says:

    You’re a lucky lady.
    Nothing like getting lost in a book.

  16. jiltaroo says:

    Wow…I have always been a reading by the fire or in bed kinda gal. However, that is beautiful and shows that you have a very alternative take on things….and a gorgeous Mum. Jen

    • I love in-bed reading too. By the fire would be too hot for me – I love the cold. Anyplace that we love to read is the best place to read!

      I think I would love to read in a tent in the midst of a blizzard.

      Thanks for your reading of this and commenting.

      Mom is pretty cool ~

Divulge your thoughts...

