First Thing You Learn is That You ALWAYS Gotta Wait

My heart is a little heavy today.  Lou Reed has died.  I’m very fond of Lou Reed. Very fond. He stands beside David Bowie as one of my really early influences in music-beyond-the-radio. Of course it was my friend, Karen*, that put on that album with the banana…and I was hooked.  Ironically, it was around 1986 (I was 16) when I realized who the Velvet Underground were.  But it wasn’t until I was about 19 or 20 that I understood who the Velvet Underground were.

RIP Lou Reed ~ I wonder if St. Peter made you wait?

*Karen – what would my music tastes have run to if it was not for you??

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Bowie, grieving, love, News, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to First Thing You Learn is That You ALWAYS Gotta Wait

  1. El Guapo says:

    I just found out, from reading your post.
    I’ll be feeling like I got kicked in the head for the foreseeable future.

    I saw him play at the old Knitting Room, maybe 15 years ago. He played Wild Side, then said “That’s the only song you’ll know all night. The rest is brand new and we’re still working it out”.
    Great show, great musician/poet…

  2. Rohan 7 Things says:

    Really sad news. Feels like the whole world got a little less beautiful and wise 😦 We’ll always have the music though.

    Rohan.

  3. I just found out! My heart is heavy too. You may not remember but I was also a fan of Up With Music. I’m forever grateful that some of my music didn’t rub off on you. 😉

  4. dentaleggs says:

    He will be missed. I’m so pleased he had Lori by his side.

  5. So sad. Another great talent lost.

  6. Carrie Rubin says:

    I didn’t listen to Lou Reed much, but I remember the girls on my volleyball team listening to ‘Walk on the Wild Side’ on the bus after games. I only lasted a season in volleyball. Not only did I suck, I didn’t do too well with that whole team-thing mentality (not surprising for an introvert). But I do remember that song!

Divulge your thoughts...

