Morning Cake is the Best Cake

This post is dedicated to my son, Dorian – because early on in his 9 years he told me that he was ‘lucky’ his Mom could bake special things for him and also sagely noted “Mom, did you know not all kids have funny parents?” (with a tinge of regret for those kids in his voice). So this is for you, my little love!

People that know me or have read past posts about my son, Dorian, know he had a really tough start. As a result of having several intestional stomas, and ultimately having some of his intestine removed, he was saddled with severe food allergies from the get go.  I’m not talking eat a little cheese then get a runny nose, I’m talking full on Anaphylaxis-inducing-call-911-get-the-Epi-Pen kind of allergies.  This is the list that he started with…

  • Peanuts/nuts
  • Soy
  • Wheat
  • Dairy
  • Eggs

Luckily he subsisted on a robust diet of gravel and rubberbands.  Actually, he was and still is a very adventerous eater. He developed a love of Indian food that has endeared him to Mrs. Bhati over at India Oven (in Tucson) since he was a toddler.  I guess any kid that loves (spinach) saag and channa is A-OK with adults.  Now, at age 9, he is only allergic to peanuts/nuts – and it’s not as severe as it was when he was younger.  He has ever been kissed by the goddess of good fortune.

Anyway, regular meals were pretty easy – when he was young, I provided all his foods and we went to a core group of restaurants that we knew we could trust to give us accurate information about the ingredients.  I applaud wait staff that take the time to talk with the kitchen staff about ingredients. We had some really awful experiences with people that just didn’t give a flip if what we gave our child might kill him. But for every bad experience, we had 10 good experiences. We even had a chef come out, talk with us and then made Dorian a special dinner that was not on the menu.

Seriously, how could you deny this face anything?

This face? Possibly…

Desserts were another matter entirely. It’s easy now adays to find things that are wheat free, dairy, free, soy free, egg free, nut free – but to find all those ‘frees’ together usually meant you were at Home Depot looking at particle board.  And unfortunately, much of the pre-made dessert foods he could eat tasted worse than I imagined particle board to taste.

As I love to bake, and was a baker for years, I was able to find an amazing recipe that I tweaked to make Dorian’s (and my) favorite cake.  We call it Morning Cake.  It is so amazingly delicious. It is also extremely versatile – from a moist banana blueberry cake to a pumpkin spice cake. We brought it to every birthday party he attended until he was 7 and we had it for most of his birthday parties too. Even after he was able to eat most anything, he asked me to please continue to make “Morning Cake” – it is associated with some of our most wonderful memories.

I want to share this incredible recipe – you don’t even need to have any food allergies to love it.

Morning Cake

  • ½ cup soft butter or soy butter
  • 1 cup honey or sugar (I tend to use about ¾ cup if I’m using honey)
  • 1 egg OR egg substitute (1 ½ Tbl oil + 1 ½ Tbl water + 1 tsp baking powder)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 ¼ cups of whatever mixture of oat/oatbran/flour you want – (I use 1 cup rolled oats, 1 cup oat bran and ¼ cup flour)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup unsweetened apple sauce or 1 cup mashed over-ripe bananas
  • 1 cup raisins, or blueberries or cranberries etc…

*Preheat oven to 325 degrees
* Cream butter & sugar (or honey)
*Mix together the egg substitute and add to creamed butter mixture (or add the egg if no egg substitute)
*Add vanilla to creamed mixture
*In separate bowl, combine dried ingredients
*Add to creamed mixture
*Add in the bananas or applesauce
* Add in any fruits or extras
*Pour into oil-sprayed pan or cupcake pan
*Bake until done – typically around 40 minutes for a cake, slightly less for cupcakes

Substitute 1 cup pumpkin pack for applesauce or banana & add 1 Tbl ginger for Pumpkin Ginger Morning Cake

For everyone that struggles with food allergies – I know the road can be rough and that a lot people don’t really understand what it’s like to live every day with anxiety about what you put in your mouth or what someone might feed your child. Or what it’s like to send your baby to school and know that they might possibly die because someone thought that the ‘no peanut’ rule was ‘stupid’ or ‘someone else’s problem’ … But know that there are a lot of us out there that do know what you struggle with – and you are not alone.

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Baking, Childhood, Eating, Family, Food, Food Allergies, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Morning Cake is the Best Cake

  1. Sounds yummy. Thanks for the recipe, Denise. As soon as my life gets sorted I’ll have time to indulge in baking.
    The pictures are too cute, especially the one at the sink with the rosy cheeks. LOVE.

  2. I love that your kid said he was lucky to have a funny mom! That is so cute. Funny and good at baking. I am in awe. I get help in my baking from Betty Crocker and Hamburger Helper usually. Which is a good thing, because the few times I tried to cook from scratch were, well, interesting. Your recipe looks cool but there are so many ingredients . . . where is the part where you open a box? So confused . . .

  3. Reblogged this on The Mercenary Researcher and commented:

    REBLOG! REBLOG! I do have the outline of an ORIGINAL post… but until … REBLOG! REBLOG! But it’s about food – I love food.

  4. In your case, the secret ingredient is love. That’s why your son wants you to keep making the cakes – your love for him makes your cakes taste so much better than ordinary desserts. 🙂

  5. Jillian says:

    I’m a terrible cook, so I’m probably going to burn it, but this sounds so good! And agreeing with the previous comments, your son is ADORBS! And it’s so great that you found restaurants that would accommodate you, and the chef?? Awesome!!

  6. Thanks for the recipe! I am looking forward to trying it! Gosh, I sure hope I am a funny parent. How awful if I wasn’t

  7. Yum! I’m going to print this out and maybe it will be OUR morning cake this weekend!
    And funny parents are the only parents that I acknowledge…

    • Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher says:

      Awesome! I can’t imagine being dull.. Enjoy your Morning Cake!! Thanks for reading and commenting.

  8. That’s basically nearly identical (save the few “free” substitutions) to the very first thing I learned how to make as a kid. Banana bread!!! This sounds wonderful. I’m going to make it.
    The quote from your little cutie at the start sounded just like my boys. Isn’t it awesome how much boys love their mommies? My littlest especially likes to brag on me and takes my kitchen creations to school in his lunch proudly. But! I’m not sure what he says when I’m not around. Conferences on Friday so I think I’m about to find out.
    I’m very fortunate that my kids are allergy free. But they do love typically unfriendly kid food. Like sashimi. You are a super mama for making things for your little guy a bit more easy!

    • Hi Heather – thanks! I would love it if Dorian ate Sushi/Sashimi – but he’s suspicious of anything fishy/raw…he’ll eat the rice though and anything in tempura.
      I think little kids realize how special it is that their parents like cooking/baking – especially if they eat at friend’s house where the parent is indifferent or doesn’t enjoy the culinary world. The only thing Dorian doesn’t like is that we don’t have a microwave in the house.

      I bet your little guy says awesome things about his bloggin’ baking’ cookin’ mom! My son loves telling people I blog and he LOVES the stats page (with the the world map).

      Let me know how Morning Cake comes out and how you might modify it. It is never quite t the same recipe when I make it. I perfer it with honey & banana – it’s much more moist.

  9. Morning Cake sounds pretty darned good. Thanks for including the recipe! And Dorian (which really is the best name ever, as we’ve already discussed) is adorable. And it’s not fair that his eyelashes are about a foot long.

    • I know – why do BOYS always get the eyelashes??????? Morning Cake is delicous – especially when made with honey…the oats soak up all the moisture and it’s just gets tasier and tastier as it sits.

      Thanks – we love his name too….We all love to say it as well…

  10. Brigitte says:

    Ruta, the recipe sounds delicious and your son, Dorian (btw what a COOL name – LOVE IT) and he so beautiful (I know boys are supposed to be handsome) but at a certain age/time in kids’ lives, they’re just beautiful — whatever the gender. He is and glad his little allergies have gotten better. I wonder why so many children are sensitive to nuts now — ? My baby sister used to have a strong allergic reaction to tomatoes when she was a toddler and she “outgrew” it. She can eat them fine now. I hope your little precious will do the same.

    • Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher says:

      Thanks Brigitte – I think he’s pretty beautiful too!

      I think his allergies were b/c his intestines were not used for almost 4 months that the stuff in there didn’t develop – so it took longer for his body to adjust to food proteins.

      Tomatoes are part of the belladonna family! We are happy to just have a peanut allergy.

  11. I love this post!!! I’ll definitely try this recipe. Yum. And I love that it has all those happy memories attached to it. 🙂

  12. That was a great post and a good idea to put the recipe up, thanks, I’ll keep that recipe you never know. 😉

  13. Romi says:

    I only associate with funny parents.

Divulge your thoughts...

