Nanutza ~

This is my Saturday Reblog – I’ve been sick for the last 3 days and cannot possibly be clever right now. So enjoy

The Mercenary Researcher

I was going to have my Mom read over this post and correct any ‘mis-memories’ in the narrative – but then decided that sometimes the best stories are the ones that we have always believed, regardless if some of the ‘facts’ are slightly askew… so in that spirit, I’m going to share the story of my Grandmother as I have always perceived it. Any inaccuracies are purely my own.

My mom’s mother’s personal story has always fascinated me. Everyone called her “Nanny” – why “Nanny” – I cannot quite remember. As her grandchildren became adults, Nanny would tell us we could introduce her to our friends as something else if we wanted, but she was not ‘something else’ she was Nanny. So Nanny it stayed.  The only alternative was a funny nickname we gave her “Nanutza” – which could mean anything or nothing for all we knew – but…

View original post 1,321 more words

About Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher

I'm a research librarian for Public Television, story teller, bike commuter, baker, music fiend, lover of reading & books, mother, wife, friend - and many more descriptive adjectives and nouns.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Nanutza ~

  1. Robin says:

    Such a great story– thanks for sharing with us! I too had a “Nanny” who we sometimes called Nanook (of the North- even though she was from St Louis )…..love the memories – she must have been really amazing to know…and so interesting about the 5 year difference trend…

  2. twindaddy says:

    Awesome story, Ladycakes!

  3. El Guapo says:

    Hope you start feeling better soon!
    (And I bet you’re always clever, no matter your condition.)

Divulge your thoughts...

